Question I'm new, please help me, thanks

All,
    I'm very new with database design. Please help me with the following attachment. Thanks a lot.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Re: I'm new, please help me, thanks

Originally posted by gobeach
    All,
    I'm very new with database design. Please help me with the following attachment. Thanks a lot.
    There's not really enough information in your attachment to produce a data model, but it looks to me like the Color is independent of the Serial and Grade, so the data model should be more like:

Color >-- Alloy --< Serial --< Grade

It's not clear whether alloys other than Steel-Alloy have serial numbers, grades and colours also.

You seem to be over-using surrogate keys in your design - e.g. why introduce a grade_id of 1 for the grade 'A'? The grade itself is a better key. On the other hand, you are using alloy_name as a key, where perhaps an alloy_code would be a good idea, since alloy_name is quite long, is mixed case, and a likely candidate for updates.

Thanks a lot. I fixed some problems and still have some questions. Could you please take a look? Thanks.

Originally posted by andrewst
    There's not really enough information in your attachment to produce a data model, but it looks to me like the Color is independent of the Serial and Grade, so the data model should be more like:

Color >-- Alloy --< Serial --< Grade

It's not clear whether alloys other than Steel-Alloy have serial numbers, grades and colours also.

You seem to be over-using surrogate keys in your design - e.g. why introduce a grade_id of 1 for the grade 'A'? The grade itself is a better key. On the other hand, you are using alloy_name as a key, where perhaps an alloy_code would be a good idea, since alloy_name is quite long, is mixed case, and a likely candidate for updates.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks a lot. I fixed some problems and still have some questions. Could you please take a look? Thanks.
    Your questions: