Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Unanswered: Performance Monitor of DB2

    Hai all,
    I have started using performance monitor of Db2.I need to get the max no of connections to my database manager since i need to assign the size of the db connection pool size.But after starting the monitor the max no of connections were 24 and after i closed it(did not stop) and reopened it after some time the max connections were 15.Is there a way i can save the value to a file so i can continuosly monitor for a full week.I cannot keep it open since i connect through pc anywhere and the system admini has also to access the same machine.

    I would like to get a way so that i can sve the value to a file and read it later as in the performance monitor in Windows.

    Thanks in advance,

    micky

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    If you issue the following command:

    db2 get snapshot for database on <dbname>

    here one of the line is like this:

    High water mark for connections = 15


    So, I think you can use the value for this counter to adjust your connection pool size. Please note that your value might be different (just making sure...)

    Hope this helps

    dollar

    Originally posted by mickykt
    Hai all,
    I have started using performance monitor of Db2.I need to get the max no of connections to my database manager since i need to assign the size of the db connection pool size.But after starting the monitor the max no of connections were 24 and after i closed it(did not stop) and reopened it after some time the max connections were 15.Is there a way i can save the value to a file so i can continuosly monitor for a full week.I cannot keep it open since i connect through pc anywhere and the system admini has also to access the same machine.

    I would like to get a way so that i can sve the value to a file and read it later as in the performance monitor in Windows.

    Thanks in advance,

    micky

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    Hai,
    The snapshot is for a particular time ,can i continuosly keep tracking the max connections for a full day.

    Thanks for the help

    micky

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    There are certain elements in the snapshot which are cumulative ...

    All high watermarks are cumulative .(high watermark for connections, high watermark for package cache etc...

    This element of the database monitor shows the high watermark of the connections since the first connect ..... But, remember, if all connections are lost, then the highwatermark value is also lost ....

    Another example of cumulative elements are elements related to bufferpools ....


    Originally posted by mickykt
    Hai,
    The snapshot is for a particular time ,can i continuosly keep tracking the max connections for a full day.

    Thanks for the help

    micky

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    hai all,

    Thank you very much for the information.

    When i took the snapshot i got some values Not Collected .why is this so and how can i collect these values.For one database all the values vernot collected.

    Also what is the failed statements and is there a way to find which all statments failed.

    Regards,
    micky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    For some counters values are not collected because their switches are not turned on. You can check the status using:

    db2 get monitor switches

    You will find some the switches are turned off, you can turn them on using the following format:

    db2 update monitor switches using <switch name> on

    dollar

    Originally posted by mickykt
    hai all,

    Thank you very much for the information.

    When i took the snapshot i got some values Not Collected .why is this so and how can i collect these values.For one database all the values vernot collected.

    Also what is the failed statements and is there a way to find which all statments failed.

    Regards,
    micky

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    To know about the failed statements and the error code associated with it., use event monitoring

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by mickykt
    hai all,

    Thank you very much for the information.

    When i took the snapshot i got some values Not Collected .why is this so and how can i collect these values.For one database all the values vernot collected.

    Also what is the failed statements and is there a way to find which all statments failed.

    Regards,
    micky

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200
    hai,

    How will i recognise whether a statement has failed or not,using the output file of my statement monitor.

    regards,
    micky

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    I do not have the exact details on top of my head ...

    But, the last time I used it to identify which statement within a stored procedure caused the failure of the procedure .... I could see the sqlcode/sqlstate in the output ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by mickykt
    hai,

    How will i recognise whether a statement has failed or not,using the output file of my statement monitor.

    regards,
    micky

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    You should rememeber that settings for monitor switches are not global, they belong to your session, so basically if you turn on monitor switch and then reattach you monitor will be off (reset to default state)

    I think one of the ways to capture failed SQL statements in to increase diagnostic level to 4

    and as self-advertisement - you can use my db2mon for monotoring, I think it's rather convinient and it's free
    http://chuzhoi_files.tripod.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    Hai
    I have downloaded ur perfmon but how to include it and make it run.where should i place it on my windows client machine,which is used to connect to the server.

    Thanks in advance
    micky

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    Copy the dlls to the c:\winnt directory and run the executable

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by mickykt
    Hai
    I have downloaded ur perfmon but how to include it and make it run.where should i place it on my windows client machine,which is used to connect to the server.

    Thanks in advance
    micky

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Re: Performance Monitor of DB2

    Hai

    I downloaded 2 file from the site give above.

    db2mon (not an executable)
    db2mon.dll

    Which is the executable i must run.Is it the performance monitor of DB2 itself.

    Thanks

    micky

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200
    Hai

    Soory got the executable

    thankx

    micky

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •