Unanswered: Difference between schema and user

Hi Experts !

This is a question which has been bugging me for some time (I am a novice to Oracle).
    Please let me know what is the exact difference between schema and user.
    The command
    create user abcd identified by def
    This creates a schema .. does it also create a user .. just a little puzzled.

Thanx and Rgds,
    Deepa

Provided Answers: 1

Re: Difference between schema and user

Originally posted by GDEEPA
    Hi Experts !

This is a question which has been bugging me for some time (I am a novice to Oracle).
    Please let me know what is the exact difference between schema and user.
    The command
    create user abcd identified by def
    This creates a schema .. does it also create a user .. just a little puzzled.

Thanx and Rgds,
    Deepa
    The CREATE USER command creates a USER (of course!). If that user can create objects, then the collection of objects owned by that user is called a SCHEMA. So every SCHEMA corresponds to a USER, but not every USER corresponds to a SCHEMA.

Hi deepa,
    you seriously need to read the documentation.It always helps.

"So every SCHEMA corresponds to a USER, but not every USER corresponds to a SCHEMA."

Hi andrewst i understand the first part.but how can a user be without a schema.
    can u clarify
    Cheers
    Murali

Hai Deepa,
    The both words user and schema are interchangeble,thats why most people get confusion on this words.Below i explained the difference between them

--User
    User is a account to connect database(Server). we can create user by using CREATE USER user_name IDENTIFIED BY password.

--Schema