Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5

    Question Unanswered: Restoring the backedup database

    Dear All,

    I had created the backup for the exisiting datbase by writing the schedule which triggers at the particular time on a day. The backup format i had used is .bak. Now i want to restore these backup files into another database (fake database). When i am trying to restore the backup data, an error stating 'The backup set holds the backup of other than exsting <Database Name> database' is displayed and the restore operation is terminating abnormally. kindly give the excat soultion for this problem..

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    117

    Re: Restoring the backedup database

    Try to rstore with the option "Force restore over existing database" (Enterprise Manager - All Tasks - Restore Database (option panel)

    Originally posted by pardhu
    Dear All,

    I had created the backup for the exisiting datbase by writing the schedule which triggers at the particular time on a day. The backup format i had used is .bak. Now i want to restore these backup files into another database (fake database). When i am trying to restore the backup data, an error stating 'The backup set holds the backup of other than exsting <Database Name> database' is displayed and the restore operation is terminating abnormally. kindly give the excat soultion for this problem..

    Regards,
    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5

    Re: Restoring the backedup database

    Hai dbadelphes,

    I tried even by checking that option.

    Originally posted by dbadelphes
    Try to rstore with the option "Force restore over existing database" (Enterprise Manager - All Tasks - Restore Database (option panel)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Make sure the database name is identical between these 2 servers.
    BTW what command you're using to restore?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5
    Hai,

    I am trying thru Enterprise Manager Wizard. I made the database names identical even.

    Regards,


    Originally posted by Satya
    Make sure the database name is identical between these 2 servers.
    BTW what command you're using to restore?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    From QA have you tried using WITH MOVE (no existing db1), or REPLACE (when you have a new db1)?

    Try making sure that no db1 currently exists, then something like:
    RESTORE DATABASE db1 FROM DISK='c:\db.doc'
    WITH MOVE 'db1_Data' TO 'R:\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\db1.mdf',
    MOVE 'db1_Log' TO 'q:\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\db1.ldf'

    Refer to BOL for more information on BACKUP statement.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •