Thread: Odbc

Unanswered: Odbc

Hello everyone,
    Newbie here,

Got a question of course. I have searched the forum and found a few answers, but there is one that just does not seem to get answered. In C++/ODBC, there is are a few functions that will return information about a result set(ex. SQLDescribeCol, and SQLColAttribute). The problem is that most of the values, namely the data type is returned as a Numeric Pointer. It is returned as a number. How do I know what data type each number represents? Is there a chart somewhere that tells that? I need to know so I can make the necessary conversion to C data types. I know I can use SQL_C_CHAR as a substitute for most of the data types, but that is just a workaround. I want to do this correctly, and besides, it will give me more flexability. Any suggestions?????

Thanks a million,
    Kendal

Does anyone have any suggestions????
    Can anyone help me?????
    I have not received a reply from any of the forums I posted this question on.

Thanks,
    Kendal

Provided Answers: 1
    Originally posted by gvector1
    Does anyone have any suggestions????
    Can anyone help me?????
    I have not received a reply from any of the forums I posted this question on.

Thanks,
    Kendal
    Probably included the source or documents that come with it...

http://mysql.planetmirror.com/downlo...odbc-3.51.html

Hope this helps.

I appreciate the reply. I already have MYSQL ODBC 3.51 installed and configured. It works fine. I also have been through the ODBC documentation thoroughly, even on MSDN, and cannot find an answer to my question. If you go to the MSDN website

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...odch10pr_7.asp