Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37

    Unanswered: problem in dropping database...

    hi,
    I did the following:
    1. created db xxx
    2. created tablespace in xxx
    3. dropped the database xxx without dropping the tablespace
    while dropping system said the "clean up is requied as few of the containers are not cleaned....".

    when I try to recreate the db xxx then it is giving the following error:
    SQL1005N The database alias "xxx" already exists in either the local database directory or system database directory

    then if I try to dorp the database again, then the following error is coming:
    SQL1013N The database alias name or database name "xxx " could not befound. SQLSTATE=42705


    how to come out of this problem?

    thanks in advnc
    -narender.
    Thanks,
    Narender,
    Satyam Computers,
    HYD,
    INDIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: problem in dropping database...

    I am safely assuming that you are running db2 on windows

    db2 uncatalog database xxx on C:

    Then you can create a new database with the same name xxx ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by pnarender
    hi,
    I did the following:
    1. created db xxx
    2. created tablespace in xxx
    3. dropped the database xxx without dropping the tablespace
    while dropping system said the "clean up is requied as few of the containers are not cleaned....".

    when I try to recreate the db xxx then it is giving the following error:
    SQL1005N The database alias "xxx" already exists in either the local database directory or system database directory

    then if I try to dorp the database again, then the following error is coming:
    SQL1013N The database alias name or database name "xxx " could not befound. SQLSTATE=42705


    how to come out of this problem?

    thanks in advnc
    -narender.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37

    Re: problem in dropping database...

    hey thaks yaar, it's working. :-)
    can I create tablespace independent of database means I will be dropping and recreating the database n times, where I just want to create tablespace once and use it furthur even If I recreate the database. just like dbspace in informix.

    -

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    I am safely assuming that you are running db2 on windows

    db2 uncatalog database xxx on C:

    Then you can create a new database with the same name xxx ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram
    Thanks,
    Narender,
    Satyam Computers,
    HYD,
    INDIA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: problem in dropping database...

    I don't think you can create a tablespace outside the database .... If you look at the SQL Ref for CREATE TABLESPACE it should say
    Required Connection : Database

    My thought is that the problem was not becasue of tablespace, rather it was some unknown reason which had prevented your db cfg file on C:\ not being updated .... The next time I suppose, it will work

    Cheers

    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by pnarender
    hey thaks yaar, it's working. :-)
    can I create tablespace independent of database means I will be dropping and recreating the database n times, where I just want to create tablespace once and use it furthur even If I recreate the database. just like dbspace in informix.

    -

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: problem in dropping database...

    Sorry, my prev post said, db cfg file .... It should be read as local db directory file ...

    Thanks

    Sathyaram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37

    Re: problem in dropping database...

    Ok, thank you for the help.

    -narender.

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    Sorry, my prev post said, db cfg file .... It should be read as local db directory file ...

    Thanks

    Sathyaram
    Thanks,
    Narender,
    Satyam Computers,
    HYD,
    INDIA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •