Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Oracle database link error

    Hello there,

    I am getting the follwing error when I try to access the database link. I have recently upgraded from Oracle8i to 9i. It is working fine on 8i but doesn't on 9i. I am using the correct username and password and I have made the correct entries in the tnsnames.ora file.

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
    ORA-02063: preceding line from UKCWASK


    Can anyone out there please help me. It is very urgent.

    Regards,
    Hemant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5

    Cool Re: Oracle database link error

    Hi,
    You have not described what type of normal/public database link it was, like fiexed user, current user or same user.
    I think you have to check the username/password and also hostname.
    Thanks!

    Ravi


    Originally posted by kumarjs
    Hello there,

    I am getting the follwing error when I try to access the database link. I have recently upgraded from Oracle8i to 9i. It is working fine on 8i but doesn't on 9i. I am using the correct username and password and I have made the correct entries in the tnsnames.ora file.

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
    ORA-02063: preceding line from UKCWASK


    Can anyone out there please help me. It is very urgent.

    Regards,
    Hemant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Thumbs up

    Can you please let me know the global_name and sqlnet.ora parameters on your system? Did you try with global_name=false?

    Also compare the output from this for the both databases:

    SQL> select * from global_name;


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA
    Visit our Web Site

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5

    Re: Oracle database link error

    Originally posted by ravipurbia
    Hi,
    You have not described what type of normal/public database link it was, like fiexed user, current user or same user.
    I think you have to check the username/password and also hostname.
    Thanks!

    Ravi
    I am trying to use a public database link with fixed username and password. The username/password and the entries in the tnsnames are all correct. Infact its exactly same as is in the 8i database.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by clio_usa
    Can you please let me know the global_name and sqlnet.ora parameters on your system? Did you try with global_name=false?

    Also compare the output from this for the both databases:

    SQL> select * from global_name;


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA
    Visit our Web Site
    The global_name is set to false. The select * from global_name is similar in both the databases. The only parameter in sqlnet.ora is

    NAMES.DIRECTORY_PATH= (TNSNAMES, ONAMES, HOSTNAME)

    and its the same in both the databases.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5

    Cool

    Hi,

    you can compare this example with your scanario...

    Current Database name --- ABC
    Remote database name --- XYZ


    sql>connect system/password@ABC

    sql>create public database link FIXED_USER_RAVI
    connect to RAVI identified by password_of_xyz using 'hostname';

    you have to have created user named RAVI at remote database XYZ
    and the password of that at XYZ should be password_of_xyz
    and 'hostname' should be configure at remote server.
    you can check 'hostname' with utility TNSPING 'hostname',
    this will help you that your hostname is working or not.


    finaly u can check at ABC

    connect system/password@ABC

    select * from RAVI.EMP@FIXED_USER_RAVI;

    Just check and let me know??
    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •