Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    Arrow Unanswered: Offline Database

    I wanna offline database .please sugget me . Thank U

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    62

    Re: Offline Database

    Originally posted by sipco188
    I wanna offline database .please sugget me . Thank U
    If you want to do that without rebooting your server, it's only possible with the soon to release ver 12.5.1 - mount/unmount feature.

    Otherwise, 1 method I can think of is to mark the db as suspect with:
    sp_configure "allow update",1
    udpate sysdatabase set status = 384 where name = "your db name"
    shutdown with nowait

    Reset the 'status' to original value to revert back.

    -Tezza.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    It still online

    Thanks tezza_chen but The database still online (On Win2K)

    Step closed Database
    1.sp_configure "allow update",1
    2.stop service
    3.start service
    4.select status from sysdatabases where name='test01'
    status
    -----------
    4
    5.update sysdatabases set status=384 where name='test01'
    6.select status from sysdatabases where name='test01'
    status
    -----------
    384
    7.test connetion
    isql -Usa -Pxx
    use test01
    go


    It still connect . I amn't sure .I changed correct

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    62

    Re: It still online

    Originally posted by sipco188
    Thanks tezza_chen but The database still online (On Win2K)

    Step closed Database
    1.sp_configure "allow update",1
    2.stop service
    3.start service
    4.select status from sysdatabases where name='test01'
    status
    -----------
    4
    5.update sysdatabases set status=384 where name='test01'
    6.select status from sysdatabases where name='test01'
    status
    -----------
    384
    7.test connetion
    isql -Usa -Pxx
    use test01
    go


    It still connect . I amn't sure .I changed correct

    After setting status = 384, I said you must issue 'shutdown with nowait' to stop the server. Then, restart the server.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    Thank you

    It has been work . Thank you for help me

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    606
    If all you want to do is limit updates you can quiesce the DB. That wouldn't stop people from issuing SELECTs but they could not change anything.
    Thanks,

    Matt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    Talking How do I quiesce the DB.

    Thank all for suggest me . I just began use sybase . I must improve knowledge. How can I quiesce the DB . I want read knowledge base of sybase. I never been learned sybase . Please suggest web site or book.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    110

    Re: How do I quiesce the DB.

    Another solution could have been to put the database into single user mode.


    Cheers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    Cool single user mode

    Yes. I have been changed to single user mode but someone connected in my system. I must connect db hold time. I want to close db forever and my system cannot stop service . Thank you all

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    606
    To quiesce:
    quiesce database yourdb_tag hold yourdb

    To un-quiesce:
    quiesce database yourdb_tag release
    Thanks,

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •