Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    76

    Unanswered: Droppin a database connection.

    usually to drop a database connection, I do the following:

    kill pid

    where pid is the process id of the database connection to be dropped, but if the database connection is from pgAdmin, I'm not able to drop the connection with a simple 'kill pid'.

    What's another way to drop the db connection?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    400

    dropping db-con

    why are you dropping a connection?

    If you have persistent connectinos the connections will be reused
    and if you don't have persistent connections the connection should end
    maybe you have not closed some connections in your application???

    but this is the fastest method to kill a backend :-)
    http://www.postgresql.org
    --Postgresql is the only kind of thing--

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tunisia
    Posts
    192

    Thumbs up Kiil the user

    Perhaps u could kill a user process , all the stuff related would be gone to hell !
    Open up
    Take a look to my Blog http://www.rundom.com/karim2k

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    76
    I'm dropping a connection in order to drop the database.

    Some of the time, I'll have 4 postgresql databases on one machine, and when one of the developers used pgAdmin to connect to the database, the worthless program obtains connections to each database. So for every pgAdmin session, the developer is using 4 database connections, (even though they only need one, since they are only testing or using one database).

    Doing a kill -9 is a bad idea on postgres, it's discouraged.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tunisia
    Posts
    192

    Thumbs up Grant

    You shoul use grant to attrib each databse to each developper

    it's like >>>
    grant [user] databse ...
    just take a look to the doc
    Open up
    Take a look to my Blog http://www.rundom.com/karim2k

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    76

    Re: Grant

    Originally posted by karim2k
    You shoul use grant to attrib each databse to each developper

    it's like >>>
    grant [user] databse ...
    just take a look to the doc
    I'm familiar with how to grant access to a database. All I want to do is drop a particular database connection.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tunisia
    Posts
    192

    Thumbs up WOW

    according to your problem
    - > evry developper should get one connection to one databse , you'll have just to restrit the access to the databases , so when the developper will connect to the DB server, he'll just get only the grated databases no more !
    Open up
    Take a look to my Blog http://www.rundom.com/karim2k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •