Unanswered: General Access Question

I am a new programmer and I have been assigned to write an Access program. I need to select items out of a purchase table based on a request number entered into a filed in a Access Form. The table I need to access is on an SQL server and is not part of an Access Database. This database stores each item on the request as in seperate row. Meaning if there are 15 orders for the same item on the same request number, it stores it in 15 separate rows. When I pull this information into a form in Access, I want it to display the same items in one line with the quanity of 15, instead of displaying it in 15 different rows. I hope this made sense but before I can start development I need to know how I can handle this problem or if I will be able to handle it at all.

Re: General Access Question

Originally posted by khill
    I am a new programmer and I have been assigned to write an Access program. I need to select items out of a purchase table based on a request number entered into a filed in a Access Form. The table I need to access is on an SQL server and is not part of an Access Database. This database stores each item on the request as in seperate row. Meaning if there are 15 orders for the same item on the same request number, it stores it in 15 separate rows. When I pull this information into a form in Access, I want it to display the same items in one line with the quanity of 15, instead of displaying it in 15 different rows. I hope this made sense but before I can start development I need to know how I can handle this problem or if I will be able to handle it at all.
    dont understant so clearly but i think this can only be done by VB codes. can you give me a specific example of data?
    qha_vn

Provided Answers: 5
    main form has the ID and a subform built on a view of the data (15 records) the link between the two is based on the id