Unanswered: Tracking Down Cause of Unique Key Constraint

I have this error:

Code:
    ORA-00001: UNIQUE CONSTRAINT
    (PK1.KSRT)
    VIOLATED
    I know what the error means but I need to see what the constraint is to see how it was violated. Can someone help me achieve this? Thanks, Jeremy
    Nothing better than a good ride.

Re: Tracking Down Cause of Unique Key Constraint

list of columns for this constraint can be obtained from dba_cons_columns or user_cons_columns.
    Just use constraint_name in the where clause (also owner for the dba_cons_columns).

Originally posted by JCScoobyRS
    I have this error:

Code:
    ORA-00001: UNIQUE CONSTRAINT
    (PK1.KSRT)
    VIOLATED
    I know what the error means but I need to see what the constraint is to see how it was violated. Can someone help me achieve this? Thanks, Jeremy

You lost me. I'm new to this as I am a developer, not a DBA. Can you explain it in more easily to understand terms. Sorry, Jeremy

The queries you can use:
    as PK1 user

select table_name,column_name from user_cons_columns where constraints_name='KSRT' order by position;

as system (or any other dba user)

select table_name,column_name from dba_cons_columns where constraints_name='KSRT' and owner='PK1' order by position;

This will give you ordered list of columns (and tables) that have to be unique. After that it is only a matter of checking of the data that is breaching this uniqueness.

You lost me. I'm new to this as I am a developer, not a DBA. Can you explain it in more easily to understand terms. Sorry, Jeremy

This is what I get from doing that:

Code:
    SQL*Plus: Release 8.1.7.0.0 - Production on Thu May 22 09:30:48 2003

(c) Copyright 2000 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.

Connected.
    select table_name,column_name from user_cons_columns where constraints_name='KSRT' order by position
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00904: invalid column name
    Got any idea? Thanks, Jeremy