Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    Unanswered: cannot unquiesce tablespace need help

    Hello fellow DB2 UDB DBAs and DB2 gurus

    I am having problems un-quiescing two tablespaces. Any tips? Thanks

    Scott

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: cannot unquiesce tablespace need help

    Any idea of what cause it to go into quiesce mode ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by mixxalot
    Hello fellow DB2 UDB DBAs and DB2 gurus

    I am having problems un-quiescing two tablespaces. Any tips? Thanks

    Scott

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    load operation failed to release quiesced state

    We performed several data load operations which put the tablespaces into a quiesced mode and failed to release the quiesced state after the load operation completed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: load operation failed to release quiesced state

    If a LOAD operation is the cause, the LOAD would have fell-over ...

    Try doing a LOAD TERMINATE (Use the same script you used earlier, but with TERMINATE option)

    This should help ..

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by mixxalot
    We performed several data load operations which put the tablespaces into a quiesced mode and failed to release the quiesced state after the load operation completed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    load ran okay more details

    I checked the details on the two tablespaces and found that they
    are listed as in a state "backup pending". However if this caused the quiesce state to not cancel how would I get the tablespaces back to a normal state? I checked our DB2 UDB backups and they ran this last evening. However I see the application db2bp running and dont know if this might be the offending process that is causing our two tablespaces to remain locked in a quiesced state or not.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: load ran okay more details

    Are you on linear logging ?

    If so, you need to have the NONRECOVERABLE option in the load command or you have to take a backup of the tablespace ...

    To get the tablespace out of backup pending state, AFAIK, you need a backup ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by mixxalot
    I checked the details on the two tablespaces and found that they
    are listed as in a state "backup pending". However if this caused the quiesce state to not cancel how would I get the tablespaces back to a normal state? I checked our DB2 UDB backups and they ran this last evening. However I see the application db2bp running and dont know if this might be the offending process that is causing our two tablespaces to remain locked in a quiesced state or not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    getting tablespace out of backup pending state

    So to continue:

    1. we have tablespaces stuck in QUIESCED exclusive state backup pending mode

    2. the loads completed successfully using Autoloader and LOAD scripts

    3. the application db2bp is running

    Would I need to kill the db2bp and restart it and then run a full backup (we use tivoli tsm with DB2 UDB) to un-quiesce these tablespaces and tables? Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134

    Re: getting tablespace out of backup pending state

    One of the options can be tablespace level backup.

    I do not know your production policy (offline vs online backups with logs plus frequency) , but you can always take an offline backup

    In future, when you do load and you are in not in circular log mode and you do not want to take backup, you shoud use copy yes parameter in load

    regards,
    dmitri

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Talking Re: cannot unquiesce tablespace need help

    Let me know the error!

    Originally posted by mixxalot



    Hello fellow DB2 UDB DBAs and DB2 gurus

    I am having problems un-quiescing two tablespaces. Any tips? Thanks

    Scott

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Talking take a full backup

    Try to take full backup offline or online and check it should be okay after taking successful back.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    error- database in use

    # db2 backup database acctvwq tablespace beta_acct_holdings to /i3data
    SQL1035N The database is currently in use. SQLSTATE=57019

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: error- database in use

    you will have to use the ONLINE keyword ....


    db2 ? backup

    for command options

    Originally posted by mixxalot
    # db2 backup database acctvwq tablespace beta_acct_holdings to /i3data
    SQL1035N The database is currently in use. SQLSTATE=57019

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    369

    think I solved problem

    Spoke with DB2 support engineer and found details on fixing the tablespace in backup pending mode:

    steps I have to take:

    1. db2 force application all
    2. db2 connect reset
    3. db2 backup db mydatabase use tsm
    4. db2 backup db mydatabase tablespaces ts1 ts2 use tsm

    Hopefully this should reset the DB2 database flag to the previous setting to remove the tablespaces out of backup pending state. They were originally in a quiesced state and a snafu put them into backup pending state. Keeping my fingers crossed on this one

    Scott

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    343
    There are different things that you can do with loads - they can be recoverable(COPY=YES), nonrecoverable(NONRECOVERABLE) and COPY=NO which will put the tablespace in backup pending state. The table can be queried when the tablespaces is in backup pending but not much else can be done with it.

    The recoverable load copies the load file to a location if forward recovery is enabled for a database. There are some constraints to this, please check the Data Movement Utilities Guide.

    What I don't understand is it looks like the database was enabled for forward recovery(that is when a COPY=NO also the default puts a tablespace in backup pending after a load operation) - in which case you should have been able to run an online backup, full or tablespace using the online keyword. Do you know why they asked you to force everyone off?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •