Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: kill process

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    Cool Unanswered: kill process

    Hello :P

    fid spid status loginame origname
    hostname blk dbname cmd
    ------ ------ ------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------
    ---------- ----- ------------------------------ ----------------
    0 1 background NULL NULL
    0 core_sips_251_his MAINTENANCE TOKE

    I want to kill process 'coz I will drop db . I couldn't do it .Pls help me

    1> drop database core_sips_251_his
    2> go
    Msg 921, Level 14, State 1
    , Line 1
    Database 'core_sips_251_his' has not been recovered yet - please wait and try again

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    87
    reboot and try again ... or kill the processes of from teh unix shell

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    62

    Re: kill process

    Do you mean the 'kill <spid'> command doesn't work?
    Have you check sysprocesses for info?
    the status seem to suggest that a threshold procedure may be running.


    Originally posted by sipco188
    Hello :P

    fid spid status loginame origname
    hostname blk dbname cmd
    ------ ------ ------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------
    ---------- ----- ------------------------------ ----------------
    0 1 background NULL NULL
    0 core_sips_251_his MAINTENANCE TOKE

    I want to kill process 'coz I will drop db . I couldn't do it .Pls help me

    1> drop database core_sips_251_his
    2> go
    Msg 921, Level 14, State 1
    , Line 1
    Database 'core_sips_251_his' has not been recovered yet - please wait and try again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    159

    Re: kill process

    Originally posted by tezza_chen
    Do you mean the 'kill <spid'> command doesn't work?
    Kill will attempt to kill a process. If that process is performing a transaction, the transaction will need to be rolled back before the process actually dies. This will leave the database in a consistent state. If the transaction has affected a large number of rows, the rollback may take some time.

    If the kill and then a shutdown has been initiated the shutdown will wait util the transaction has been rolled back before shutting the server down. Shutdown performs a checkpoint in each database, this allows for speedier recovery of the databases when the server restarts.

    If the dba is impatitient, shutdown with nowait may be issued. This immediately kills the process and shuts down the ASE. Since no checkpoints have been issued, there may be transactions in the transaction logs of the databases that need to be recovered. This happens the next time the ASE is started. The database where the problem spid was working may take a significant amont of time as the transaction log is recovered. The rows modified by the transaction have to be remodified and the rolled back because the transaction failed to commit.

    If you wait long enough, kill will generally work, but it may take some time if the process was performing a transaction at the time the kill command was issued.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42
    Thank you for your suggest . that right it 's my problem . I cann't solve it. I load data to database using bcp and log database was full. I killed process and database show
    1> sp_who
    2> go
    fid spid status loginame origname
    hostname blk dbname cmd
    ------ ------ ------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------
    ---------- ----- ------------------------------ ----------------
    0 1 background NULL NULL
    0 core_sips_251_his MAINTENANCE TOKE
    ----------------------------
    I stop and start database again . It show error on error log is


    00:00000:00001:2003/05/27 10:41:46.83 server Error: 1105, Severity: 17, State: 3
    00:00000:00001:2003/05/27 10:41:46.85 server Can't allocate space for object 'syslogs' in databa
    se 'core_sips_251_his' because 'logsegment' segment is full/has no free extents. If you ran out o
    f space in syslogs, dump the transaction log. Otherwise, use ALTER DATABASE or sp_extendsegment t
    o increase size of the segment.
    00:00000:00001:2003/05/27 10:41:46.85 server Error: 3475, Severity: 21, State: 7
    00:00000:00001:2003/05/27 10:41:46.85 server There is no space available in SYSLOGS for process
    1 to log a record for which space has been reserved. This process will retry at intervals of one
    minute. The internal error number is -4.
    00:00000:00008:2003/05/30 16:33:38.01 server Configuration file '/opt/sybase-11.9.2/hornbill.cfg
    ' has been written and the previous version has been renamed to '/opt/sybase-11.9.2/hornbill.067'
    .
    00:00000:00008:2003/05/30 16:33:38.02 server The configuration option 'allow updates to system t
    ables' has been changed by 'sa' from '0' to '1'.
    00:00000:00008:2003/05/30 16:36:16.18 server Configuration file '/opt/sybase-11.9.2/hornbill.cfg
    ' has been written and the previous version has been renamed to '/opt/sybase-11.9.2/hornbill.068'
    .
    00:00000:00008:2003/05/30 16:36:16.18 server The configuration option 'allow updates to system t
    ables' has been changed by 'sa' from '1' to '0'.

    ************************************************** ******
    first I think that log has full .I create store procedure for suspect databases and I check the database not suspect . I don't how do i do.
    please suggest me .

    Thank you so much

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    159
    You need to identify what status the database is in. Can you post the output of the following...

    select * from master..sysdatabases where name = "<database_name>"
    go

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    kill process

    Thank you I could solve my problem

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    42

    kill process

    Thank you I could solve my problem

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: kill process

    Originally posted by sipco188
    Thank you I could solve my problem
    i face the same problem, could u tell me how to solve it? thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •