Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: Why 9i apache can't startup

    Dear all,

    Oracle9i in Redhat 8

    I can't start apache when I ssh to my linux box and issue the below command

    [root@fatdog bin]# pwd
    /u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Apache/bin
    [root@fatdog bin]# ./apachectl start
    ./apachectl start: httpd could not be started
    [root@fatdog bin]# ls -la apachectl
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 oracle oinstall 9018 Mar 8 12:11 apachectl

    However I can execute this command to start apache when I vnc to my linux box, start a terminal and issue the above command.

    Any idear? Thankyou

    Regards,
    Daniel Wan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    188

    Re: Why 9i apache can't startup

    Originally posted by Daniel Wan
    Dear all,

    Oracle9i in Redhat 8

    I can't start apache when I ssh to my linux box and issue the below command

    [root@fatdog bin]# pwd
    /u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Apache/bin
    [root@fatdog bin]# ./apachectl start
    ./apachectl start: httpd could not be started
    [root@fatdog bin]# ls -la apachectl
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 oracle oinstall 9018 Mar 8 12:11 apachectl

    However I can execute this command to start apache when I vnc to my linux box, start a terminal and issue the above command.

    Any idear? Thankyou

    Regards,
    Daniel Wan
    Daniel

    check to see if port 80 is being used also port 8080
    see if that hleps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3
    Dear Maor71,

    Thx for your reply

    Both port 80 and 8080 is not in use

    I have to manually start apache every time I restart my linux box

    Although I already put the command in my rc.local file but it didn't work
    [root@fatdog rc.d]# grep Apache rc.local
    #Apache startup (Oracle version)
    ./u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Apache/bin/apachectl start
    [root@fatdog rc.d]#


    I have to run the same commond in xwindow terminal

    [root@fatdog /]# /u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Apache/bin/apachectl start
    /u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Apache/bin/apachectl start: httpd started

    just wounder if other people can auto start oracle9i apache in their linux box. Thx

    Regards,
    Daniel Wan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Thumbs up

    You can use chkconfig command to do that.

    First, check if it's already setup:

    # chkconfig --list httpd
    httpd 0ff 1ff 2ff 3n 4n 5n 6ff

    To add it at each level do:

    # chkconfig --level 3,4,5 httpd on


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa - OCP - DBA

    dbaclick.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Thumbs up

    Seems some smiles are using " : 0 " code. Each smilie has to be : 0 instead


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa - OCP - DBA

    dbaclick.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6
    Hiya,

    I've experienced this before on SuSE 7.3 and on RedHat 7.2

    It's not so much of a problem on SuSE as they provide a nice rpm file that has a good set of startup scripts that works around this particular problem, I only ran across it when I tried to restart apache manually from the console once

    The problem you are having is due to the fact that the oracle script to start apache seems to need the DISPLAY environment variable to be set (It seems to be something to do with the way JServ is configured)

    This is the reason that why you run the command from an xterm it works, but when you run it via a ssh session it fails. If you configure your ssh client to tunnel X11 connections it should work.

    You could also add something like export DISPLAY=:42.0 to your rc.local file before it runs the apachectl start command (It doesn't matter what value you choose for DISPLAY in this case)

    Hope this helps,

    Chris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6
    Also from my experience with the Oracle http server, the most useful logfiles to look at when diagnosing problems are the mod_Jserv logfiles located in $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Jserv/logs I find that the standard apache logfile isn't usually terribly helpful as most errors tend not to be with apache but mod_Jserv (Just for reference the apache logfiles are located in $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Apache/logs)

    A good way of telling if it is the DISPLAY environment variable that's causing your startup woes is to look at mod_jserv.log and it should have a line similar to

    [22/03/2003 17:11:58:155] (ERROR) wrapper_auto: File /opt/oracle/product/9.2.0.1.0/Apache/Jserv/etc/jserv.properties (li
    ne 438) wrapper.env.copy: environment variable not found for DISPLAY

    Hope this helps,

    Chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3

    Talking

    Originally posted by chrissyspill
    Also from my experience with the Oracle http server, the most useful logfiles to look at when diagnosing problems are the mod_Jserv logfiles located in $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Jserv/logs I find that the standard apache logfile isn't usually terribly helpful as most errors tend not to be with apache but mod_Jserv (Just for reference the apache logfiles are located in $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Apache/logs)

    A good way of telling if it is the DISPLAY environment variable that's causing your startup woes is to look at mod_jserv.log and it should have a line similar to

    [22/03/2003 17:11:58:155] (ERROR) wrapper_auto: File /opt/oracle/product/9.2.0.1.0/Apache/Jserv/etc/jserv.properties (li
    ne 438) wrapper.env.copy: environment variable not found for DISPLAY

    Hope this helps,

    Chris

    Dear Chris,

    Bingo !!

    I go lot of error like this

    [20/05/2003 07:04:39:083] (ERROR) an error returned initializing protocol "wrapper"
    [20/05/2003 07:04:39:083] (ERROR) in init all protocols "wrapper" returned an error
    [20/05/2003 07:04:39:083] (EMERGENCY) Error initializing protocols
    [21/05/2003 20:43:12:760] (ERROR) wrapper_auto: File /u01/oracle/product/9.2.0.1/Apache/Jserv/etc/jserv.properties (line 466)
    wrapper.env.copy: environment variable not found for DISPLAY

    I'll try to add "export DISPLAY=:42.0" to my rc.local

    Really thx a lot
    and thx to other guy answer my post

    Regards,
    Daniel Wan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •