Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: db2 clients

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    150

    Unanswered: db2 clients

    I have Installed the DB2 client on AIX 5.1, however I just want to know what processes get spawned on the box the client is running on? And how do you start the client up?

    I tried doing db2start but that does not seem to work?

    thanks in advance for any help

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    The DB2 Control Center is db2cc. But you might want to catalog remote databases first with the Client Configuration Assistance, which I believe is db2cca.

    You can also catalog remote databases, or issue other DB2 commands from a command prompt using CLP commands. Check out the DB2 Command Reference manual.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    150
    Thanks

    I catalogued a remote node and a remote database successfully but only after adding the port number and the DB2 SVCENAME entry from the server machine's /etc/services file into the client machine's /etc/services file.

    Mark

    (this step I could not find in any IBM supplied documentation but figured this one out because on AIX an entry gets added to the machine on the server side but the client side would not know about this entry unless you added it yourself)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    The Client Configuration Assistant helps you catalog a remote node and a remote database. In many cases it can browse the network and find these (including the required port number and DB2 SVCENAME entry).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    150
    I guess it's because I am a command line type of person. I just find it easier to do it that way over the gui way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: db2 clients

    in the catalog database node, the parameter for the server option need not necessarily be a service name .... it can be a port ..... I have always used the port number (not a good habit, I know) ....

    What processes ? None, except your application .... Connections from msaccess are called msaccess.exe ..... Connections from Websphere appserver are called java , etc....

    db2start is only for the server .... On the client, you do not need to start any services/processes to access the remote database ..... The required libraries get loaded when you request the connections ....

    HTH

    Sathyaram

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •