Unanswered: SQL 7 to SQL 2000 on same machine

Hi,

I'm totally new to MS SQL and has the following assignment:

1. Export databases/objects from SQL 7.0, then do a clean installation of SQL2000 (Enterprise edition) on the same W2K machine

2. After the installation, import the databases/objects into SQL2000

May I know what are the correct commands to export/import and what are the things that I should be aware of?

Greatly appreciated all valuable assistance!

Re: SQL 7 to SQL 2000 on same machine

sounds like you may come from an Oracle background...

You can simply backup your SQL 7 db's and restore them into your new SQL 2000 db, keeping in mind that you will need to straighten out logins/users.

MS provides an upgrade wizard, this is sometimes handy if you are moving many db's from one server to another.

You can create a DTS package to export all of the db objects, logins and users and import them into the 2000 box.

There are also a few other options that are covered along with these topics in Books Online.

Re: SQL 7 to SQL 2000 on same machine

sounds like you may come from an Oracle background...

You can simply backup your SQL 7 db's and restore them into your new SQL 2000 db, keeping in mind that you will need to straighten out logins/users.

MS provides an upgrade wizard, this is sometimes handy if you are moving many db's from one server to another.

You can create a DTS package to export all of the db objects, logins and users and import them into the 2000 box.

There are also a few other options that are covered along with these topics in Books Online.

Personnaly I'd just ask why you can't Backup - Upgrade & Apply the latest sevice packs

It's worked fine for me a few times with no adverse results.

S'pose it depends on the familiarity with SQL Server that your Task Manager has.

Can anyone tell me of any problems encountered AFTER a succesful inline upgrade like this ?

GW