Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820

    Unanswered: report is being a pain in the Ar$e

    access is reporting that
    "There was a problem retrieving printer information for this object. the object may have been sent to a printer that is unavalable"

    why the hell does this stop me entering design and preview modes and how do i fix it if i can't enter design mode?
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    817
    Provided Answers: 5
    version?

    If no printer is recognized no reports can be designed or created.
    install generic text print driver if you have no printer. This has been the case with access since at least 7.0 (95)

    Also if you are using version 2k and no SR releases your reports will automatically format to 1" margins even after you reset them and save them as something else. This occurrs if name autocorrect is turned on.
    Tools/Options

    thought I would just throw that in

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    sorry if i wasn't being clear, i have 4 reports 3 of them are working perfectly one of them doesn't, though it used to, the db is access 2000 file format but i'm using 2002- sp2 to edit it.

    i have 2 printers installed on the system and both are working fine
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    817
    Provided Answers: 5
    Make a blank report
    Copy all objects to the blank report _ including code - do not just copy and pate the obkect through copy paste - recreate the object.
    This sound like a corrupted object and i5t occurrs more than people realize
    BTW - a repair will generally not fix a corrupted object at that level.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    Originally posted by axsprog
    Make a blank report
    Copy all objects to the blank report _ including code - do not just copy and pate the obkect through copy paste - recreate the object.
    This sound like a corrupted object and i5t occurrs more than people realize
    BTW - a repair will generally not fix a corrupted object at that level.
    i must have missed something, how do i copy the objects, if i can't access the report?

    ps the problem is now affecting 2 of the four reports, since the last time access crashed
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    Originally posted by m.timoney
    i must have missed something, how do i copy the objects, if i can't access the report?

    ps the problem is now affecting 2 of the four reports, since the last time access crashed

    sounds like u need to do a compact/repair of the database and or do a repair to your office instalation.

    See what that does for u
    Jim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    oh well never mind after the lastest crash the problems fixed it self, thats the 50 crash today i wonder what's up with access, it's not normaly like this
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    Originally posted by m.timoney
    oh well never mind after the lastest crash the problems fixed it self, thats the 50 crash today i wonder what's up with access, it's not normaly like this
    u may want to update your viruse scan dat files and run a scan...Just a thought
    Jim

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    817
    Provided Answers: 5
    import the entire db into a new container (mdb) could be that the mdb is sitting on some bad sectors.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    Originally posted by JDionne
    u may want to update your viruse scan dat files and run a scan...Just a thought
    Jim
    i do that twice a week and the last time was monday.
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    Originally posted by axsprog
    import the entire db into a new container (mdb) could be that the mdb is sitting on some bad sectors.
    tried that first of all the problem crossed over with it and that was accesses 50th crash not the 50th crash of access running this db
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    817
    Provided Answers: 5
    have you tried uninstall and then run the regclean util from the microsoft site?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    okay the problems staying fixed and access have only crashed once in the hour i've been at work, opposed to the 10 yesterday, looks like what ever the problem was it's transitory
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    Originally posted by m.timoney
    okay the problems staying fixed and access have only crashed once in the hour i've been at work, opposed to the 10 yesterday, looks like what ever the problem was it's transitory
    Ohh thats so comforting....hope this doesent need to go into production.
    Jim

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    Originally posted by JDionne
    Ohh thats so comforting....hope this doesent need to go into production.
    Jim
    correction the crashing gone away and the two broken reports are working but one of the others is now showing the same problem and i didn't think to check it when the others started working again
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •