Unanswered: How to use Sybase Anywhere 5.0

hi, i'm new to sybase system.
    i have a Sybase Anywhere 5.0 database in a pc where it's running a server IIS. i want IIS to connect via ODBC to 2 database file(i've made a several ASP pages in ordere to connect and extract/insert data to database).how i start the database in order to allow multiple access to database?
    i've tried to start the server whith the switch -x namedpipes (because the server is the same pc that the client (IIS)) and the 2 database files, and it's all ok, next i've start the dbclient whith the same switch and the name of the server and it's ok, but when i trie to connect via ODBC the system raise a connection error.
    what do i do to start the system in the best way?
    thankyou

Re: How to use Sybase Anywhere 5.0

Originally posted by jeppo
    but when i trie to connect via ODBC the system raise a connection error.
    what do i do to start the system in the best way?
    thankyou
    Do you configure the ODBC connection to use named pipes?

Personnally I would use tcpip as it's more platform independent. If your connected to a LAN you could put in the hostname or ipaddress rather than "localhost" which is always 127.0.0.1

-x tcpip{localhost:nnnn}

where nnnn is the port number.

I'm running ASA 8 (x2) on the same machine + mobilink + IIS and it works fine - even across DUN.

For IIS the ODBC connection must be a system DSN, and it's probably worth making ASA a service so that when the machine reboots, it comes up automatically. There is a sample service (well there is with ASA 8). If you need to the command line to start it, let me know.

sybase