Question Unanswered: Unwanted Prompt during Form Load

My first post. Hope I'm not out of line.

I usually do a good search first.. but I wouldn't have a clue how to search for this. I'm fairly new with Access. I see its powers.. but I also and having a hard time trying to figure out how to make it do what I need... hopefully those are due to my ingnorance (most likely) than weaknesses.

I hope I'm not out of line with this, but I hope I can get some good suggestions:

I've got THIS SQL as my RECORD SOURCE for my subform.

SELECT *
    FROM Y_CLIENT_UNITS_ENTRY AS a
    WHERE (((a.CLIENT_ID)=[Forms]![frmClient]![txtFormClientID]) AND ((a.START_DATE)=[Forms]![frmClient]![txtISPEffectiveDate]) AND ((a.DISCIPLINE)=[cmbUNITSdiscipline]));

cmbUNITSdiscipline is a combo box on the subform. When the form first loads it is EMPTY.. so the query should not find anything.. but it prompts me to enter a value.. :-( I don't want it to do that.. I want it to just display the screen and let me choose something from the combo box.. THEN have it display the record. Any thoughts?

If I don't use a.DISCIPLINE=[cmbUNITSdiscipline] and use just a.DISCIPLINE='PT' then it will find and display that record.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

MemphisBill

it asks you not because the variable is empty or null, but because it cannot find the variable (it is not defined) and that's why MS Access assumes that it is a paramater....

it looks that the problem is in AND ((a.DISCIPLINE)=[cmbUNITSdiscipline]));

replace it with AND ((a.DISCIPLINE)=[Forms]![frmClient]![cmbUNITSdiscipline]));

jiri

thanks for the suggestion jiri,

But the combo box is on a SUBFORM named 'sfrmUNITSpt' - but even using your suggestion and putting in THIS code:

((a. DISCIPLINE)=[Forms]![sfrmUNITSpt]![cmbUNITSdiscipline]));

still yielded a prompt to enter a parm value for:
    Forms!sfrmUNITSpt!cmbUNITSdiscipline

Oh well.. let me keep at it!

Provided Answers: 5