Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Unanswered: db2 connect from UNIX to OS390

    Hi everybody!

    We want to connect from an AIX 4.3.3 System running
    DB2 V7.2 FP 9 Client to an OS390 DB2 V7.

    The Problem is I don't know exactly how to establish this connection (from UNIX to OS390).

    What steps do I need to do to get a connection right?

    -db2 catalog tcpip node
    -db2 catalog database
    -......????

    I have all information (IP / Port /Location_name), but I don't seem to get this right.

    Can somebody help me?

    Thanks in advance...

    Kind regards to all

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    24
    Hello.

    You need to do:

    - catalog tcpip node...
    - catalog dcs database... <- This is specific for using DB2 Connect against host or iSeries databases
    - catalog database...

    Hope this helps

    /Daniel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7

    Cool

    Thanks!

    Now I seem to have a license Problem, could that be?

    SQL8002N DRDA connect processing failed; a valid product license was not
    found. SQLSTATE=42968

    Could you give me an exact sample of the commands?

    Thanks and kind regards

    Stefano

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    On AIX, do a db2licm -l which will list your license entitlment ...

    DB2 Connect comes with a 60(or is it 90?) day trial period with DB2 EE ..


    Cheers

    Sathyaram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7

    db2licm

    Thanks!

    The license issue now is gone, after loading it.

    ;-)

    Now I still can't connect. Now I get:

    SQL1403N The username and/or password supplied is incorrect. SQLSTATE=08004

    And the user and psw IS correct. I think something with the cataloging went wrong, but I cant figure out what...

    Ideas?

    Thanks and Kind regards to all

    Stefano

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    for example:

    catalog tcpip node db2node remote 198.21.0.1 server port_number
    catalog dcs db mfdb2 as EXAMPLES
    catalog database mfdb2 as TEST at node db2node
    connect to TEST user username using password

    WTH.


    ljrong

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for the Info.

    But i'm not quite sure which NAME to use for mfdb2.
    Is this the location_name;dbname or instance_name(Subsystemname) on OS390 ?

    I think this is our MAIN Problem here.

    Thanks again in advantage.

    Kind regards

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    Hi,

    EXAMPLES is DB name on your OS390.

    mfdb2 is any name you want.




    -ljrong

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7
    Hi ljrong

    Thanks for your reply.

    But as our DBA pointed out on OS390 the layout/naming-scheme is
    a little different from Unix.

    On Unix we've got an INSTANCE and under that INSTANCE there are the actual DB's(dbnames).

    On OS390 we've got a Subsystem(equivalent to INSTANCE) and the DB's located there have location_names. Also there are dbnames but
    they aren't needed to connect?

    So if i've got the following names what would the commands look like?:

    INSTANCE on OS390 = DB2T
    Location_name on OS390 = DB2T_TEST
    Local Alias Name on UNIX = mfdb2

    I know that this is getting boring, but I still can't connect and I'm not really a crack on DB2.

    I really appreciate all your help ;-)

    Thanks again!!

    Kind regards,

    dhark01

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    1. you must uncatalog the unnecessary node ...
    use db2 ? for help
    For examples
    db2 LIST NODE DIRECTORY
    db2 LIST NODES
    db2 LIST DCS DIRECTORY
    then

    db2 uncatalog dcs database dba
    db2 uncatalog database dba
    db2 uncatalog node db2node2

    2. Ask you DBA for port number used on OS390( we use 446)
    catalog tcpip node db2node remote ip server port_number
    catalog dcs db DB2T_TEST as EXAMPLES DB2T_TEST
    catalog database DB2T_TEST as DB2T_TEST at node db2node
    connect to DB2T_TEST user username using password

    if it did not work uncatalog them then use DB2T.
    The important thing is port number and ip address of OS390.

    WTH


    ljrong





  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    2. Ask you DBA for port number used on OS390( we use 446)
    catalog tcpip node db2node remote ip server port_number
    catalog dcs db DB2T_TEST as DB2T_TEST
    catalog database DB2T_TEST as DB2T_TEST at node db2node
    connect to DB2T_TEST user username using password

    I type wrong, we did not need EXAMPLES


    ljrong

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7
    Thanks ljrong!

    I will try that tomorrow, because today i am not at work ;-)

    Kind regards,

    dhark01

    PS: I will post any results!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7
    Hi there!

    Thanks to everybody for their help.

    The main problem actually was, that we where using DB2 V7 Workgroup Edition and the connection feature for OS390 are only available on DB2 V7 Enterprise Edition and greater.

    So, this was the reason why I couldn't connect to OS390.

    Now everything is working fine!!

    Thanks again!!

    Kind regards,

    dhark01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •