Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: how to add indexes for nicknames tables ?

    Hi all,
    Do any one knows how to add indexes for nickname tables?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: how to add indexes for nicknames tables ?

    Have never tried, but a few notes on my scribble pad on federated indexes :

    1) SYSCAT.INDEXES stores information about the indexes at the source. This information is obained from the data source when the nickname is created.

    2) If the index is created after the creation of the nickname, you can add the specification by using

    create index ind1 on fed1 (col5) specification only ...

    Use the second option with caution ... Inappropriate indexes will cause db2 to generate inefficient access plans ...

    HTH

    Cheers

    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by nmkumaran
    Hi all,
    Do any one knows how to add indexes for nickname tables?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Re: how to add indexes for nicknames tables ?

    thanks,
    muthu

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    Have never tried, but a few notes on my scribble pad on federated indexes :

    1) SYSCAT.INDEXES stores information about the indexes at the source. This information is obained from the data source when the nickname is created.

    2) If the index is created after the creation of the nickname, you can add the specification by using

    create index ind1 on fed1 (col5) specification only ...

    Use the second option with caution ... Inappropriate indexes will cause db2 to generate inefficient access plans ...

    HTH

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    Indexes can not be added to the nicknames. Indexes must be added to the source system table.

    Hope this helps,

    Grofaty

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605

    Re: how to add indexes for nicknames tables ?

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s

    2) If the index is created after the creation of the nickname, you can add the specification by using

    create index ind1 on fed1 (col5) specification only ...

    Hi,

    According to my experiance this 2) option does not work as it should. I advice you to recreate nicknames (drop nickname and create it again) after creation of indexes on database source table.

    See more details in book "Federated Systems Guide" on URL http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...bs.d2w/en_main

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Arrow Re: how to add indexes for nicknames tables ?

    Yes, Grofaty you are right,I tried indexes with specification only, still it ran same hour for export.
    thanks,
    muthu


    Originally posted by grofaty
    Hi,

    According to my experiance this 2) option does not work as it should. I advice you to recreate nicknames (drop nickname and create it again) after creation of indexes on database source table.

    See more details in book "Federated Systems Guide" on URL http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...bs.d2w/en_main

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi nmkumaran,

    Did you recreate the nickname? How did you solve the problem?

    Grofaty

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35

    Wink

    I recreated the nickname and tried to export but still its takes same amount of time.I hope it because of network problem.It has lot of firewalls and gateways.
    thanks,
    kumaran
    Originally posted by grofaty
    Hi nmkumaran,

    Did you recreate the nickname? How did you solve the problem?

    Grofaty

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •