Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Gouda, Netherlands
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: SQL Server and VPN

    Our company is planning to buy new software which works with SQL server.

    This software is to be used also by our establishments, which are connected through an (SDSL 256kBit) VPN, while we have a 2Mbit connection.

    The developer of that software says we can't use our VPN to work with it directly. Instead we should use terminal server according to them.

    However they claim that their software is fully transactional and uses the roll-back also.

    So I can't see why we couldn't run it on the VPN?

    Has anybody has experience with this? Or could somebody shed some light in this matter? I must say I'm a newbe to SQL server.

    thx in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    IF the vendor says then ask him for a proof of concept why it won't work on VPN. As a test try to use in TEST Platform.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Gouda, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    The vendor says the're gonna be lots of time-outs..

    And since they don't want users calling about that to their helpdesk they simple say; we don't support this method..

    Only Terminal Server.. Which we think is pretty costly so we're planning a test like you suggested, anyway.

    thx for your reply!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Timeouts depends on the network traffic, router problems and so on, which are in your hands to fine tune them. Anyway if vendor insists and your management is happy then go on.

    Good luck.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Gouda, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Quote : "Timeouts depends on the network traffic, router problems and so on, which are in your hands to fine tune them."

    That's what we thought too.

    So we've installed a packateer to reserve enough bandwith for that application. Seems to use it should work fine, but we'll see.

    Thx again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    Hi,

    We've got a similar situation to you. We run a SQL Server app over a VPN, with a 1M/1M SDSL connecting out to 7 384/128 ADSL sites.
    Generally, we have no problem. Occasional dropped connection and connection failure (good old 'General Network Error'), but no big complaints.
    We don't do all that much bandwidth - there is only 3-4 PC's runnin the app at each site (It's a POS system), but i guess in the end, just as everyone else says, you wont know until you test it

    Cheers,

    Josh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    If you're sure something to do from network side, then better to take help of network admin and run some diag. to take care of those dropped packets and also it matters if any firewall invovles.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •