National Ranking problem

I have a slight problem. I am a newbie to databases but pretty good with spreadsheets. I have been asked to convert a national bowling ranking spreadsheet to a database. What happens is, if a bowler makes it to any or all of the predetermined tournaments, they are awarded points for that tournament. From here, points are added up and the players are ranked. I am not sure what tables to set up. I'm assuming I need tables for tournament names, bowler names. I am not sure if I need one for pts awarded to each bowler for the individual tournaments. I want to be able to enter the bowler info (name, address, etc.), then on a separate form, select a bowler from the already setup list and be able to enter the pts for each tournament as required.

Later i can display the bowlers, total pts for the year and their ranking. I have tried myself to no avail. I have chosen Filemaker Pro as the database.

any help would be appreciated.

St. Louis, MO USA
    I have always said that are 2 type of people in this world, database people and spreadsheet people.

Unfortunately, the answer to your problem is not that simple. You were definitely on the right track when you mentioned a table for the Bowlers (Name, Address, etc.). You need a unique identifier called a primary key to identify each of those bowlers (I'd advise against counting their names as unique). But beyond that, things get very tricky; as you yourself have found out.

Tournaments are a great exercise in database design which is why I'd imagine no one here has attempted a reply. There just simply is not enough information in this post to be able to help much. Besides, that is a pretty lengthy request for someone to actually come up with in a forum response.

My first suggestion would be to read up on relational table design and normalization. There are some good short reads everywhere on this topic but you will need to study the examples.