Angry Unanswered: Error message "The search key was not found in any record"

Hi there!

I have a bit of a problem with a database I use daily (as part of a records filing system) and I was hoping that someone here could help.... I should state up front that I didn't build the database, I just use it, and am trying to improve on what was in place without compromising the integrity of our filing system. I'm not a programmer, just a user, so in other words, don't get too technical or I won't be able to follow the thread! ;-)

Some specifics on the database:

*database front end is 4 users on Access2000 + 1 user on AccessXP
    *database back end is Access 2000
    *database contains ~22500 records
    *database is housed on a server

The problem is this: after updating a record and upon trying to move to another record, I will receive the following error message: The search key was not found in any record. I'll click 'OK' and try to move on again, and will receive the same message. Attempting to delete the record gives the same message. I have found that in order to move from that record, I have to exit the form.

The error doesn't seem to be restricted to a single record, and I've only found the ones that are affected when trying to update, so it seems to be pretty randomly distributed throughout the database. I have tried to delete the affected records from the table itself (instead of using the form), but I get the same message.

I'm not sure if this is important, but I have had to do quite a few compact and repairs in the last couple of months that I think are related to the differences between XP and 2000. We're trying to get put everyone on the same OS, but there are logistical complications because of an application used by field reviewers; long story short, it would be easier to bump the XP users back to 2000, but we've had some resistance to that idea.