Unanswered: MS SQL Parts Database

I am a newbie to the world of SQL Server and I am trying to develop a parts database for computer components. I need tables for each component type (mobo, cpu, memory, hard drives etc.) but I also want to show relation between compatible components (i.e. sata harddrives for mobos that support sata as an example) in my queries and stored views so that if a user selected a Motherboard they can recieve a list of compatible components with that Motherboard. So far I have setup tables for each component, each table has a comp_id (where comp is the component type) and I have a comp_type_id table that stores all of the component id's. Each component table's comp_id column is the primary key relating to the comp_type_id table (which has the foreign key. Is this the way to go or am I completly out of the ball park. Any suggestions or guidence will be greatly apprieciated.

Provided Answers: 1
    I'd recomment NOT creating separate tables for each component. That would be a nightmare to maintain.

Instead, create a single table for storing all components and assigne each component a unique ID. Then have a second table for storing compatibilities with two fields as the primary key: Comp_ID and Compatible_Comp_ID.

This is an ambitious project, and your real challenge will be getting people to enter data religiously. You may think you are making the database more powerful by adding functionality, but you may end up making it such a pain to use and update that the data is never reliable. Just a word to the wise: keep it simple!

blindman

I see what you mean. I will work that idea out on paper. What kind of index would you use on a table that massive? Also, how do I indicate two primary keys for one table.

Thank you for your suggestions

Provided Answers: 1