Thread: DB2 for AIX

Red face Unanswered: DB2 for AIX

Hi Everybody !

I am looking at a DB2 programming assignment under AIX platform. I have no experience using AIX but I am certified under DB2 UDB V7.1 as a DB2 for UNIX. My db2 experience is on Windows and mainframe.

Do I need to prepare for anything other than the AIX platform familiarization ?

TIA,
    Oliver

Hi,

I think u have sufficient knowledge in Db2 will be good enough.U must get used with the unix (aix) commands and shell scripting.
    I am working on both aix and windows platforms and don't find it difficult to handle.Of course there are issues which i cannot solve myself at which i go for assistance.

micky

Thanks Mickykt !!!

I am not sure if they are using a DB2 UDB, is there DB2 version prior to UDB for UNIX ? Will this be a problem if they are not using a DB2 UDB ?

Also, can you point me to any link where I can start studying UNIX - AIX ?

Thanks !

Hi,

I am not sure of the first part i am using UDB .

I think this provides some basic command and general info about AIX /UNIX.

http://publibn.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/ds_rslt#1

give a try,

mickykt

Re: Thanks Mickykt !!!

If you are going to do Programming, from the db2 point of view, there is very little you need to know ... If you do dba stuff also, then you might want to know atleast some basic Unix ... Of course, you can do 'almost' all of your dba work a client also ....

When I started working on Unix(I had mainframe background), I had to know 3-4 commands:

ls -al
    cd
    ps -ef
    grep

and in vi, use of h,j,k,l,x,a,i,dd

HTH

Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

DB2 for AIX prior to UDB

Thanks Sathyaram_S !!!

I'll start studying AIX using IBM redbooks. You're right, aside from programming I am expected to do some DBA stuff too.

One question left though, is there a DB2 version for UNIX prior to UDB?

Regards