Angry Unanswered: newbie query help

hello all,i am developing an application which displays available pcs in our lab.all activites are stored in a sql server table.Sql server 2000

Table structure is field name datatype null values
    logon varchar(6) canbe null (values = login or logoff)
    username varchar(20) canbe null (eg user01,B023)
    computername varchar(20) canbenull (if its in lab1 name will be lab1-01,lab1-02..,if its in lab2 name will be lab2-01,lab2-02.)
    logontime datetime(8) canbenull (26/11/2002 11:17:52)

table sample is

Logon computername username logontime

Login lab1-01 x 2003-07-09 11:17:00.000

Login lab1-03 y 2003-07-09 11:19:00.000

Logoff lab1-01 x 2003-07-09 11:20:00.000

with these details is it possible to see currently how many machines r occupied in each lab.if so how?i am planning to write an asp page which will display currently available machines,so tat user can go to particular lab .i am a sql newbie .if any 1 can guide me tat wuld be helpful for me .thx in advance

-regards
    aravind

as far as i can see (im finding it hard to understand exactly what fields will be in your database) all you should need to extract the info is something along the lines of:

select from tableA computername
    where (logon = ' ')

presuming the table is called 'tableA'

you might be better off having another field of type boolean which simply shows whether anyone is logged into the machine, maybe 0 for vacant or 1 for in-use.

hope this helps
    If riding in a plane is flying, then riding in a boat must be swimming. To experience the element, get out of the vehicle. Skydive!

assume that a computer is "occupied" when the latest logon for it is "Login"

this query will list the individual machines:
    Code:
    select computername
         , logontime  as LastLoginTime
      from yourtable  as TT 
     where logontime
         = ( select max(logontime)
               from yourtable 
              where logontime = TT.logontime )