Unhappy Unanswered: Is it possible to replace word in every file?

HI All,

I am very new in unix and i am not familiar if my requirements can be done in unix.

I need to replace a common word that exists inside thousands file,is impossible to edit one by one.

To all expert, are there any unix command that i can use to do this.
    It might not be possible to do it once probably i need to creat a script but is it possible?

Do you know if there is a ready example?

Re: Is it possible to replace word in every file?

for a single file i'll do

cat filename | sed 's/<current-word> <new-word> > filename.new
    mv filename.new filename

A similar approach will work for multiple files also ...

There is likely to be a more efficient method to the same

Cheers
    Sathyaram

Originally posted by msetjadi
    HI All,

I am very new in unix and i am not familiar if my requirements can be done in unix.

I need to replace a common word that exists inside thousands file,is impossible to edit one by one.

It might not be possible to do it once probably i need to creat a script but is it possible?

Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

I would do something like this for multiple files...

for fname in $(find . -name "*" -print)
    do
    sed '/word/s/word/new_word/g' ${fname} > ${fname}.new &&
    mv ${fname}.new ${fname}
    done

The 'find' command will output every filename that matches '*' (i.e. EVERY file) starting from the current directory ('.')

The 'for' loop will obviously cause the nested statements to occur for the list of substituted filenames.

The 'sed' command will substitute the word you require. Note: the initial occurrence of the word 'word' is not necessary but it makes the command more efficient as sed will only look to perform the substitution on lines that contain the match (as opposed to every line by default).