Thread: Defrag a DB

Red face Unanswered: Defrag a DB

Hi PPL

I am quite new to this whole Oracle thing...

We are having a problem with a Slow DB but there are quite a few records in it and I am not sure if that is the actual problem, we have created indexes on the tables which helped with the processing of records by it seems that the speed keeps dropping over time...

We want to Defrag the DB cause we have 2 tables which has about 1gig empty but we have no idea how to. Can someone please explain it to me, in simple steps...

Any help will be really appreciated...

Just a little more information if needed

The DB is running on Windows 2000 Server and its Oracle 8i Ver 8.1.7.

We intially thought that it could be a Network problem but we took the Server on the net work and run the application on it and it was still slow..

Can someone also recommend any other ways to enhance the speed of the database?

Arrow Queries

Does ur application use lots of SQLs.

If you dont mind, could u post some of the queries u r running.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

A very quick method would be to Analyze all the tables in your schema and compute statistics on them.
    (you can create a script of download one very easily).

That would be where I would look first. If you have many inserts/deletions of data then analyzation is needed to recalibrate your indexes.

If still slow, work on query optimization and creating additional indexes.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

Yes, the Application uses a lot of SQL because it does payroll calculations, the problem is that I dont have any of the code but this is what I got from a trace. Its does a few thousand selects, updates, and inserts in like a minute on our 1 DB but on the other one it takes about 10 minutes. It uses an ODBC Connection.

Also can you recommed a script that I can use to Analyze all the tables ?