Unanswered: Adding data in SQL server

This is probably a very basic question, so thanks in advance for not flaming the newbie.

I created a sample database in Access, then converted it into SQL Server format using the import/export wizard. I'm doing the "Creating a Distributed Application" walkthrough in Visual Studio and everything has compiled and runs fine. My problem is that I just created an empty database in access. It only has one table with two fields (a names table with lastName and firstName fields.) When I run the project I created in Visual Studio, I don't get any errors, but the data grid that I added doesn't have any data. This isn't surprising, because it is an empty data base. I'm very new to SQL Server and can not for the life of me figure out how to add data to a database. I feel dumb even asking such a question, but how do I create some dummy first and last names?

Thanks for the help.

Re: Adding data in SQL server

Use an insert statement In Query Analyser.

If your table is called names it would be something like:

INSERT Names VALUES('John', 'Smith')
    INSERT Names VALUES('Jane', 'Doe')

Or you can open the table in query analyser and type the data directly into the table.

Hope this helps

Brent

Originally posted by orangewater
    This is probably a very basic question, so thanks in advance for not flaming the newbie.