Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Arrow Unanswered: TNS Listener ???

    Hi
    I have two DBs on the network. I have one development, and one production server.

    I am trying to connect TOAD to the production server, but it gives me the error "No TNS listener".
    It connects fine to the development system.

    I wanted to know what is the binary file for starting the TNS Listener. I found two files "lsnrctl" and "tnslsnr".
    On doing a ps on unix, I dont find a trace of both on development server, so I cant say for sure what file it could be.

    Help on this would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    44

    Re: TNS Listener ???

    lsnrctl is a management utility for Oracle listener.
    tnslsnr is a listener itself.

    If you want to start listener use:
    lsnrctl start


    Originally posted by aruneeshsalhotr
    Hi
    I have two DBs on the network. I have one development, and one production server.

    I am trying to connect TOAD to the production server, but it gives me the error "No TNS listener".
    It connects fine to the development system.

    I wanted to know what is the binary file for starting the TNS Listener. I found two files "lsnrctl" and "tnslsnr".
    On doing a ps on unix, I dont find a trace of both on development server, so I cant say for sure what file it could be.

    Help on this would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Getting TNS : No Listener still ???

    Hi

    I issued the command you gave, and it gave the following output, which means that the TNS listener was already started.
    LSNRCTL for Linux: Version 8.1.7.0.0 - Production on 22-JUL-2003 10:13:13

    (c) Copyright 1998 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    TNS-01106: Listener using listener name LISTENER has already been started.

    Somehow the TOAD is still not connecting. Even the port numbers match on both the PC and the server.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    44

    Re: Getting TNS : No Listener still ???

    Did you try to connect using sqlplus (from the same machine as TOAD)?
    If sqlplus connection is OK but TOAD is failing, check what ORACLE_HOME TOAD is using.
    If sqlplus connection is failing check your tnsnames.ora.

    BTW, it is strange that you cannot see tnslsnr in ps on the server to which you CAN connect.

    Originally posted by aruneeshsalhotr
    Hi

    I issued the command you gave, and it gave the following output, which means that the TNS listener was already started.
    LSNRCTL for Linux: Version 8.1.7.0.0 - Production on 22-JUL-2003 10:13:13

    (c) Copyright 1998 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    TNS-01106: Listener using listener name LISTENER has already been started.

    Somehow the TOAD is still not connecting. Even the port numbers match on both the PC and the server.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    On the connect page in TOad, try clicking 'Show connection Options' and then check off 'Use last Oracle Home'
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Arrow Ping problem

    Hi
    It seems that TOAD login is more related to ping.
    I am unable to ping to the production system from my PC (where TOAD is installed).
    I guess that would probably explain things.

    But I am not sure if my theory stands correct.
    As ping uses the echo server, which is at different port than the standard listener port for Oracle, which is 1521.

    Should I try using the TNSPing instead for this.

    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Arrow Any ideas

    Hi
    I am not sure why I am unable to connect to the Oracle production server through my TOAD.

    I am able to do a ssh to the production server from my PC, but using TOAD it restricts me for some reasons, as a result of which I am unable to connect to the actual server I want to use TOAD with.

    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    1,137
    You probably have a firewall between your PC and the prod server. You probably need a hole made in the firewall for the port Oracle is using. See your network admins.

    Alan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Port Forwarding Command Line

    Hi Alan

    I saw some documentation for port forwarding and it mentioned to include the following line for port forwarding.
    I am not sure if this should go on the server (on Linux) or on the oracle client (my PC).

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Portforwarding with tnsnames and oracle
    tnsnames.ora must listen on localhost:1521

    Port forwarding: ssh -L 1521:delirium:1521:dirk@delirium.foobar.de

    # TNSNAMES.ORA Network Configuration File: /opt/oracle/product/8.1.7/network/admin/tnsnames.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    FAJITAS.FOOBAR.DE =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = delirium)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = fajitas.foobar.de)
    )
    )
    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    I am not sure where this change need to go. On the client machine or the server.

    Also, a fact. I can ssh from my PC to the actual server, which means that the server accepts ssh connections.

    Any ideas.
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Arrow TNS Listener working :)

    Hi
    I finally got the TNS listener to work.
    It was a case of a firewall.
    I had to setup port forwarding to get the thing working.

    If anyone needs information about how to do this, throw me an email at salhotra@hotmail.com
    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •