Question Unanswered: How to calculate minimum (or maximum) among 6 columns for every row?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to MS ACCESS and SQL. I am trying to create a query that will list the minimum (or maximum) value among multiple columns(fields) within the same record in a newly created field for every row. For example, pls see below:

Field 1, Field 2, Field 3, Field 4, Field 5, Field 6, New (calculated)Field
    10, 23, 35, 14, 25, 1, 1
    2, 5, 3, 8, 9, 0, 0

and so on. There are over several thousand records (hence copying to Excel and using min function from Excel is not an option) and I need to figure the value of New Field as indicated above.

Can you pls help me with the sample query for the above? If we need to use Nested IIF statements with the expression builder, can someone pls provide a sample for the above? I appreciate all your help in advance. Thanks much.

Regards,

RG

there is probably a clever way, but here is a stupid way: ABCDE are your fieldNames

Calc = iif([A]>[B],[A],[B])
    'finds biggest of AB

Calc = iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]))
    'finds biggest of ABC

Calc = iif([D]>iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B])),[D],iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B])))
    'finds biggest of ABCD

and finally:
    Calc = iif([E]>iif([D]>iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B])),[D],iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]))),[E],iif([D]>iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B])),[D],iif([C]>iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]),[C],iif([A]>[B],[A],[B]))))
    'find biggest of ABCDE

izy

sorry, you said SIX fields, so one more iteration: