Unanswered: Help! How to read data from Informix 5.0 (!!)

Greetings to all,

this is my first post on this forum, as I've been looking around for days for a way to solve a problem. Since I found nothing so far, I'll leave a question here, hoping some experienced Informix user will have a 'trick' to help me somewhat.

I'll just explain what it is then:

Scenario:
    A customer of ours has a very old Compaq Proliant server, running and old ERP software on Informix 5.0.0 UD1 (1992 release...) on SCO OpenUnix 5 platform. This customer has no system administrator, no experienced personnel, the ERP software company has long disappeared, and as far as I know is not willing to upgrade any of the above software/hardware.

Objective: Retrieve (even if in plain text form) the data out of Informix so it can be treated/analysed/transfered to another platform/software combination.

I have extensive knowledge of Linux/general Unix, but nothing this *old*.

My Questions:

Is there an Informix command or procedure that can be executed on this SCO Server that actually outputs a text dump of the full database(s) and their structure?

or

Is there a way to retrieve information directly off dat/idx file pairs, so they can be manipulated by a custom made program?

or

Is there a way to access the informix server from another database system on another platform (Linux with informix ODBC/Windows Server via ODBC, etc).

Any help is greatly, *immensely* appreciated, since we are basically stuck (as our customer is with this software). We would like to help him move on.

If the information I provide is not enough just ask me I'll be glad to give more details if needed.

Thank you!

Re: Help! How to read data from Informix 5.0 (!!)

Hi,