Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    57

    Unanswered: Combo box problems!

    I have added a combo box to my form that pulls values from a query or table in my db. It will show the values, but will not allow me to select any of the values in the combo box! Where am I going wrong? Thanks.


    Dalynch

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    If your forms takes data from a query it might be that the combo box control is bound to filtered data. In this case you can't change the values.
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    57

    I changed to a table instead of a query

    I changed the combo box to lookup a value in the table now, and I see the list and can drop down the box to look at the list. I still can;t select any of the values in the list though! I am trying to use that values select in the list to open a specific form about that name selected. Thanks.

    Dalynch



    Originally posted by Marco Del Corno
    If your forms takes data from a query it might be that the combo box control is bound to filtered data. In this case you can't change the values.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    Can you explain what happens when you click on a value?
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    57

    ok hows this?

    Originally posted by Marco Del Corno
    Can you explain what happens when you click on a value?
    Actually nothing happens when I click on a value. I can drop the box down and scroll through the list, and it will highlight the selections in the list as I scroll through them, but when I click on anything, it just sits there. It woin't let me select any of the choices in the drop down box.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    Now... check the combo box properties. In the data tab you will find a tag like blocked or something like that. hat should be "No" otherwise you won't be able to select a value.

    Tell me if it worked, please.
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    57
    Originally posted by Marco Del Corno
    Now... check the combo box properties. In the data tab you will find a tag like blocked or something like that. hat should be "No" otherwise you won't be able to select a value.

    Tell me if it worked, please.


    I found out the issue! On Form properties, I had "Allow Edits" at NO, needs to be YES! Thanks for your help!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    Sometimes simple solutions are too obvious to find!
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •