Question Custom objects or datasets ??

Hello

I'm using SQL 2000 server and ADO.NET (C#) and I have a problem. Since I'm not very experienced in database design, I dont know which solution is beter. Is it better to create custom object with fileds conaining data from tablet and design bussines logic around those fields, or use dtataset directly. I'll give an example. Let say I have to tables A and B. There is one-to-many relationship between them (for every row in A there are more rows in B). Is it better to create object for every row in A and object for every row in B and so every object for A has a collection of objects from table B with methods supporting data form table A and B. or is it better to create one object, that has two datasets A and B. There is quite a lot of bussines logic and methods for data maniupulation, besides rows from table B are often used without connection to table A, so I'm not sure which solution is better. If anybody had similar problems, I would be very grateful for help.

Example:
    1.)
    class A
    {
    data fields for table A;
    Colections_of_B bb;
    varius methods ....;
    }

class B
    {
    data fields from table B;
    varius methods ...;
    }
    2.)
    class A
    {
    DataSet A; // data from table A:
    DataSet B; // data from table B:
    varius methods;
    }

Thanks
    Matjaz

Re: Custom objects or datasets ??

I know exactly the situation you're in, because I've run into it a number of times myself, including today. I use Sybase SQL Anywhere and VB.NET, but the concept is the same. What I usually do in order to reduce the memory and DB access load is the following: