Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: DB2 locking and isolation levels

Hi, I am fairly new to DB2. I have been working on Oracle for a while now. I am having trouble understanding DB2's default behavior when it comes to locking and isolation levels. I would appreciate it if someone would provide any insight. Thanks so much.

I have read and have been told that DB2 by DEFAULT does ROW level locking just like Oracle. I installed DB2 on my laptop and haven't changed anything to it's configuration, so it's running right out the box. Now I do the following..

1. Open two CLP windows, connected to the same database as two different users

Machine A
    DB2 connect to db1 user admin1 using admin1
    db2 +c "update master.employee set lastname = 'NEW' where empno='000010'"

Machine B
    db2 connect to db1 user admin2 using admin2
    db2 "select * from master.employee /* Hangs until I commit in admin1's window. */
    I also tried running
    db2 +c update employee set lastname = 'JASTI' where empno='000010' /* It hung until I committed in admin1's tran. as well */

How and why in the world is DB2 not allowing user admin2 to select from employee? And if DB2 advertises they do row level locking, how come if I just update 1 row out of the 10000 rows in the table, it locks the entire table and does not let the second user to update another row in the same table?

In Oracle, you only get a exclusive ROW level lock on the row updated and the rest of the users can update the reminder of the unlocked rows and of course can select any row they want and they will get the read consistent data before the update until the user holding the lock commits or rolls back.

My questions..
    I thought the default behavior in DB2 for locking is ROW level. Is it not?
    What is the default Isolation level for DB2?
    And how do I have DB2 let different users update different users in the same table?
    How do I show the current isolation level at the database/database manager level?