Question Unanswered: System Tablespace issue

I'm a recently-hired dba working for a company that has an existing Oracle aplication up and running where all of the implementation work was done by a vendor. They installed their application tables in the system tablespace. I want to correct this error. What kind of a mess do I have on my hands?

I need to keep the application available while I am repairing this problem. The server this is installed on has limited available disk space.
    Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Is the application schema different than the system schema?

Ie: Application schema is 'scott', but all of it's objects are located on the system tablespace.

OR, did they create everything as the SYSTEM user?
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

Originally posted by The_Duck
    Is the application schema different than the system schema?

Ie: Application schema is 'scott', but all of it's objects are located on the system tablespace.

OR, did they create everything as the SYSTEM user?
    answer - Application schema is 'scott'

wow! I was right on the money!
    2 points for me, but -500 points for the idiots that set that up.

You actually have a few options:
    1. rebuild all scott objects and assign the appropriate tablespace as you do this.
    2. create a new user/schema with the correct defaults and then export scott-objects, import into new-user, re-align application to new-user, then remove everything from scott (drop user scott cascade).
    - The_Duck

The_Duck wrote -

You actually have a few options:
    1. rebuild all scott objects and assign the appropriate tablespace as you do this.
    2. create a new user/schema with the correct defaults and then export scott-objects, import into new-user, re-align application to new-user, then remove everything from scott (drop user scott cascade).