Unanswered: Oracle and Storage Area Networks (SAN)...I need insight

Hi Guys,

We have a SunFire V480 that we are going to be connecting to our SAN. We all agree that putting these huge data files on the SAN is the way to go.

But we're stumped on decided what to do with the binaries. Should we put it also on the SAN. We heard of others doing it.

1.) I'd like to get a better picture of how this works. You guys can validate some of the preconception I will include in this thread.

2.) I'd like to find out more of some of the benefits, and perhaps caveats, of doing this. (for now, lets say money is not an issue).

I am fairly new to SAN and getting rusty on SUN.

Here's my (simplistic) idea of how this works. If the SUN box was conencted to the SAN, we would simply mount the file systems on the SAN that's been allocated to the box (just as any file system...right?) So if the binaries are also on the SAN, we would simply be mounting those file systems as well and be able to boot Oracle from the SUN box. (Please confirm)

But if we have the binaries on the SAN, can other SUN boxes use the same binaries to host Oracle?

If so, then I could see that when it comes time to upgrading/patching...things are centralized! This would seen to be a great benefit.

Could you guys who have experience in this or INSIGHT tell me things I need to consider before moving forward to implementing this.

THank you.

Hi dbbyleo,

I think that sometimes the configurations are so specific that you won't necessarily find an answer here or on the web/google anywhere.

I have no experience of the SAN you describe, or of the config you describe but I have worked at a number of sites running large SAN's.

The impression I get is that given enough bandwidth between the SAN and the Oracle server, that the SAN is best left to purely deliver storage requirements, and Oracle left to run on another box. Don't quote me on it though.