Porto, Portugal

Unhappy Unanswered: Event ID ( 17055 )

Hello all! This is my first message here, and I need help. I am a experienced software developer and T-SQL user (about 5 years), but now I'm also starting as a database administrator, and my firts task is taking care of a problem... The thing is that I'm geting my SQL Server 2000 to crash when I run some kind of process. It may be a simple query, or a complex one. The simple may fail and crash SQL Server and the complex not or vice-versa. In the Windows Event Log, it puts the following information (note thath where is "sa" could be some other user, the result is the same):

"The description for Event ID ( 17055 ) in Source ( MSSQLSERVER ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. The following information is part of the event: 18454; Login succeeded for user 'sa'. Connection: Non-Trusted."

There are a SQL Server 7 and a SQL Server 2000 used by the same application.

I've read some info and I didn't get any good ideas on how to solve this.

Can anyone be kind enough to help me? Very apreciated!

Did you ever figure out your problem?
    I am seeing the almost EXACT same message.

perhaps this will help

When the access violation occurs, the following event is logged in the Application event log:
    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: MSSQLSERVER
    Event Category: (2)
    Event ID: 17055
    17310 :
    SqlDumpExceptionHandler: Process 3856 generated fatal exception c0000005 EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION. SQL Server is terminating this process. When the access violation error occurs, you may notice stack information that is similar to the following:

Hotfix information