Liverpool, England

Unanswered: Replication using 100% CPU power

Hi guys

Hopefully someone can answer this query for me

I am quite new to working with SQL Server and I have been asked to replicate a database between 2 sites.

After looking at the options I decided that Transactional Replication was the best option so I proceeded to set it up.

Everything seemed to go okay, I setup my main server (SQL 7.0) as the Distributor and the Publisher, created my publication and I then configured my second server (SQL 2000) to use a Pull Subscription.
    I then went back to the first server and generated the initial snapshot which took a while but seemed to run okay, I then synchronized using the Pull Subscription and that also worked fine.

Problem I am having now is the Log Reader Agent on the Publisher seems to be hogging CPU power and my cpu usage is permanently above 95% (if I stop SQl server then it falls to around 25% which is normal for this server).

It always shows a status of Running Delivering Replicated Transactions.

We are planning on replicating this database once a day so does the Log reader Agent need to be running all the time, I assumed it would as the way I understand it the Log Reader Agent monitors all transactions going into transaction log and puts all INSERT, UPDATE and DELETE statements into the Transaction database ready for replication.

If it does need to be running then does anyone know how I can stop it from hogging all of the CPU - my server is an IBM Netfinity x232, 2 1Ghz Xeon Processors and 2GB physical memory.

Sorry for the long post guys

Thanks in advance

cape town, south africa
    log reader agent will know the last place in the log it recorded, and should be able to pick up from there when restarted. in Agent Properties
    set the desired schedule. (perhaps once an hour)

One thing to be carfeul of, is not to truncate your publication databases