Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Washington DC area
    Posts
    1,770

    Wink Unanswered: Oracle Management Server.

    Hey Gang, I have a 8i database that I log into with a 9i interface using Enterprise Manager. I'm able to see the database even the test database I created. I'm attempting to setup backup and recorvery procedures and the OMS utility does not come up. Is there some type of conflict that I dont know about. The product should have been loaded. I'm unable to connect to the OMS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    77

    Re: Oracle Management Server.

    Originally posted by garrydawkins
    Hey Gang, I have a 8i database that I log into with a 9i interface using Enterprise Manager. I'm able to see the database even the test database I created. I'm attempting to setup backup and recorvery procedures and the OMS utility does not come up. Is there some type of conflict that I dont know about. The product should have been loaded. I'm unable to connect to the OMS.
    Yeah the syntax has changed a bit from 8i

    try this command

    oemctl start oms

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Washington DC area
    Posts
    1,770

    Unhappy Re: Oracle Management Server.

    I attemped start it from the command promt with the same result.
    I'm thinking it might be theseable to reinstall it from scratch.

    [
    QUOTE]Originally posted by vld
    Yeah the syntax has changed a bit from 8i

    try this command

    oemctl start oms
    [/QUOTE]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    77

    Re: Oracle Management Server.

    did you create a repository for the enterprise manager

    make sure that the database used for the repostiory is up and running.

    use emca utility to create the repository

    Originally posted by garrydawkins
    I attemped start it from the command promt with the same result.
    I'm thinking it might be theseable to reinstall it from scratch.

    [
    QUOTE]Originally posted by vld
    Yeah the syntax has changed a bit from 8i

    try this command

    oemctl start oms
    [/QUOTE]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200
    Hi,

    I am also running Oracle 8i on Sun Solaris and monitoring it from my client using Oracle 9i client on Win2000 prof.I can access every thing fine.

    1.Can u log into the Enterprise manager from your client.
    2.Have u added ur other databases to the OEM.How did u do it ,is it by adding nodes.
    3.try to run other utilies such as performance manager....
    4.Make sure ur Intelegent agent is kept on on the Remote Oracle Server.(for me this solved the issue).

    mickykt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Washington DC area
    Posts
    1,770

    Unhappy OMS

    Hey, You said chech the remote for the intel agent. What would I be looking for exactly?

    Originally posted by mickykt
    Hi,

    I am also running Oracle 8i on Sun Solaris and monitoring it from my client using Oracle 9i client on Win2000 prof.I can access every thing fine.

    1.Can u log into the Enterprise manager from your client.
    2.Have u added ur other databases to the OEM.How did u do it ,is it by adding nodes.
    3.try to run other utilies such as performance manager....
    4.Make sure ur Intelegent agent is kept on on the Remote Oracle Server.(for me this solved the issue).

    mickykt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •