Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    7

    Cool Unanswered: Informix / Delphi Connection

    Hi there everyone!

    I'm currently on DB-Access Version 7.30.UC9. The Informix is for BaaN ERP. The data is stored in raw format.

    I'm curious whether it is possible to connect into the Informix and view the data using software written in, maybe Delphi or Visual Basic?

    Thanks a bunch!

    Bobby

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Queretaro, Qro
    Posts
    8
    We've been using Delphi as a frontend for an Informix database since 1997 more or less without any problem. You only must get and configure Informix SDK and setup an ODBC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks very much for your reply! What sort of filesystem is your Informix on?

    THanks again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Queretaro, Qro
    Posts
    8
    The data is stored in raw partitions. initially wa had a Unix server but since none in our staff is hendy with unix we decided to move the database to Windows NT. It supports file and raw partitions just as Unix does and it has been absolutly stable, no problems.

    By the way the kind of filesystem or even Informix platform is meaningless to Delphi since it connects with the server by an IP port no matter if it is Unix or NT or raw or file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Oh I see! Thank you so much!

    Was trying to find the Informix SDK yesteday from the IBM website but without much success. Will try again today as I've more time now.

    I hope I can seek help and advice from you if I'm stuck!

    Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Alrighto... got the Informix CSDK! Gonna try it out now...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Help... what is the difference between the server and the hostname? And what should the servicename and protocolname be?

    Thanks for your help!

    Bob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Queretaro, Qro
    Posts
    8
    Ok let see: in hostname you use the machine's name, or better yet for W2k and above, the IP adress of the host that runs Informix.

    Serverneme is the name of your Informix instance, check DBSERVERNAME parameter on the onconfig file. Servicename is the name of the listening service that will process the client's request it's configured at server's installation, it could be Turbo at 1526 port, check the services file or setnet config at your host. I alse recommend you that use the port number and not the name in W2000 and above.

    Protocol could be onsoctcp or olsoctcp, check NETTYPE at the onconfig file.

    Hope that helps

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7
    We use AnyDAC to import data from Informix database into Firebird database. AnyDAC connects to Informix through ODBC. No problems so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •