Question Unanswered: Linking Access & Outlook

Hi,

I have to link Access & Outlook
    We have a lot of contacts and we're getting tired of editing contacts @ 2 spots

That's why we were wondering if there's a possibility of linking Access & Outlook.

If there is a possibility to do this. How can I accomplish it? and is there a guide to do so?

I'm a beginner and just started working with databases so any help is welcome.

thanks in advance

kind regards,

Justin

You could simply export your contacts from outlook right into a table in your access database. This works very well, but I'm not sure how automated a solution you need.

well that probably won't be enough
    I already tried this yesterday after I posted this message
    with the export function from outlook I always have to import it

what I need is a system that will change the information automaticly once it has been edited either outlook or access...

Re: Linking Access & Outlook

Not sure which version of office you are using but here's a link that might help for Office 2000.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;260410

If you are using Access 97 there is a free addin called wzmapi80.exe that enables you to link Access to your contact tables in exchange. I assume that there is one for 2000 and XP. Its easier as any updating in one alters the other.

Paul

Thumbs up

we're using office 2000
    do you have any info where I can find this file for office 2000?

For more information have a look on Microsofts website for knowledge base article Q176702. Here you will find the download and any supporting documentation. We are about to upgrade to Access 2002 and hope to use this application in these upgraded databases.

Done some more research and found this. Its not my work so I'll give credit to one DougP. Here goes his solution.

You can have any item in the Outlook Personal Folders, show as a linked table in Access 2000
    This only works by default in Outlook 2000 and Access 2000.