Thread: SQL in VB

Exclamation Unanswered: SQL in VB

Hi all , im currently trying to connect a SQL server using the Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server (Data Environment) in VB
    The error that came out while refreshing server is = "Error Enumerating data servers, Enumerator report Unspecified error"

Im a pure Sql noob coz before this im using MS Access so i would like to know how do i actually connect a sql server in VB's data environment?
    Am i to understand that, the Sql server is used to hold multiple databases so everytime we need to view the data in another machine...we had to export/import those databases to Sql Server?

thats all..hope someone could help

Hi,

We mainly use OLEDB to connect to SQL Server via VB/ASP/.NET

Something along the lines of,

objConn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    objConn.Open "Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;User ID=username;Password=password;Initial Catalog=databaseName;Server=servername or ip address"

objConn.Close
    Set objConn = Nothing

Is that the sort of thing you are after?

If I were you I'd not use the VB data environment at all, since I think it sucks a bit and I feel like I get less controll. I think it's better to use e.g. ADO and write all your code manually.

If you are using more than one database-server (if you have one db for development and one live db) it might be perfered to use a DSN.

E.g.

set objConn = new ADODB.Connection
    objConn.Open "DSN=yourdsn;UID=youruid;PWD=yourpwd;"

set rsCon = new ADODB.RecordSet
    rsCon.ActiveConnection = objConn

strSQL = "select * from tblUser order by vchFirstName"
    rsCon.open strSQL
    rsCon.Close

set rsCon = Nothing
    objConn.Close
    Set objConn = Nothing

Unless you are using a scripting language, never use CreateObject, as it will be very slow compared to Swinger's syntax (I'll leave out the IDispatch vs v-Table binding speech, but trust me, it's faster the way Swinger is saying).