Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13

    Red face Unanswered: Ora - 12154 and 12514 We've tried everything !!!!

    We had a server working - recently it was re-booted.
    Now when i try and use dba studio or SQL + i get the 12154 error.which is what im more interested in...

    We are sure things havent changed on the config of the files.
    But its stopped working and im not a Oracle expert so was wondering if anyone could help???

    Have included all the ora files.
    Database name : ag314val
    Server Name: OXF-VAL01
    Its a Windows2000 server.


    # TNSNAMES.ORA Network Configuration File: d:\oracle\ora81\network\admin\tnsnames.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    ####################################
    # Date..........: Thu Apr 17 13:47:04 GMT 2003
    ####################################

    EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA.II.ORG.LOCAL =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SID = PLSExtProc)
    (PRESENTATION = RO)
    )
    )

    AG314VAL =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = OXF-VAL01)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = AG314VAL)
    )
    )
    __________________________________________________ _____

    # LISTENER.ORA Network Configuration File: d:\oracle\ora81\network\admin\listener.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    LISTENER1 =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = oxf-val01)(PORT = 2481))
    )

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = oxf-val01)(PORT = 1521))
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER1 =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = ag314val)
    (SID_NAME = ORCL)
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    (ORACLE_HOME = D:\oracle\ora81)
    (PROGRAM = extproc)
    )
    )

    __________________________________________________ _______

    # SQLNET.ORA Network Configuration File: D:\oracle\ora81\network\admin\sqlnet.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.
    NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = ii.org.local
    SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES= (NTS)
    NAMES.DIRECTORY_PATH= (TNSNAMES, ONAMES, HOSTNAME)

    __________________________________________________ _________

    Any help would be most appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13

    Red face

    Nothing then ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Has the OracleService<SID> service been started? It may be set to manual startup and hence not be running followng the reboot.

    ControlPanel->AdministrativeTools->Services.

    Hth
    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198

    Re: Ora - 12154 and 12514 We've tried everything !!!!

    Originally posted by MoOriginal
    We had a server working - recently it was re-booted.
    Now when i try and use dba studio or SQL + i get the 12154 error.which is what im more interested in...
    ...
    Any help would be most appreciated
    If the service is started then try this...

    Change the TNSNAMES.ORA to this
    AG314VAL.ii.org.local =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = OXF-VAL01)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = AG314VAL)
    )
    )
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Thanks guys for both your posts...

    Yep service is running
    and made the tns change - still same problem.


    (

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Can you ping oxf-val01 (by name not by IP).

    If you can ping the host, then try a TNSPING AG314VAL.ii.org.local

    Let us know how you get on.

    Cheers
    Bill

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Bill,

    Ive just TNS pinged the server - at came back fine..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Can you connect in DOS SqlPlus using the following from a command prompt, maybe you've already tried it :-)

    c:\> sqlplus <user>/<password>@AG314VAL.ii.org.local

    Let me know,
    Cheers
    Bill

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    When i use the full path given
    ERROR:
    ORA-12514: TNS:listener could not resolve SERVICE_NAME given in connect
    descriptor

    Then i get this :

    Enter user-name: manager
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-12560: TNSrotocol adapter error

    Thanks for help so far Bill.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198
    Originally posted by MoOriginal
    When i use the full path given
    ERROR:
    ORA-12514: TNS:listener could not resolve SERVICE_NAME given in connect
    descriptor

    Then i get this :

    Enter user-name: manager
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-12560: TNSrotocol adapter error

    Thanks for help so far Bill.
    Try these ideas:

    In your sqlnet.ora add:

    NAME.DEFAULT_ZONE = ii.org.local
    SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES= (NONE)


    If that doesn't work, then

    Change the HOST = OXF-VAL01 to the actual TCP/IP address in the TNSNAMES.ORA so that it reads HOST = XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
    and try it.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Okay, I'm tempted to say the service_name in the TNSNAMES.ORA isn't complete, but if your config files haven't changed this shouldn't be the case. I would think it should include the db_domain after it something like...

    (SERVICE_NAME = AG314VAL.db_domain)

    You can find the db_domain and full service name in the Init.ora file for this instance. It will (probably) be called something like InitAG314VAL.ora or just init.ora.

    In that file, find the lines as follows....

    db_name = "DEV"
    db_domain = ASD
    instance_name = DEV
    service_names = DEV.ASD

    And change your TNSNAMES.ORA SERVICE_NAME=AG314... to whatever the service name entry is in Initxxx.ora.

    I just tried that here, taking out the .db_domain from the TNS entry and just as per your messages, I could TNSPING it but got the identical error message when trying to connect.

    You are keeping a backup of your original TNSNAMES.ORA, LISTENER.ORA aswell aren't you :-)

    Cheers
    Bill
    Last edited by billm; 08-21-03 at 11:07.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Bill,

    The details in the init.ora file match
    "ag314val" for instance_name and service_name
    These are the same as the service name in TNS ora file already.

    The only thing I notice that the init file doesnt have the db_domain listed in it???

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Jim,

    I have also tried your suggestions - but no luck
    :-(

    Ive left the tns file with your suggestions in it

    after keeping backup of original files - which dont matter
    cause the thing isnt working !!!!
    arggggh

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    I've just noticed that according to your SID_LIST_LISTENER in LISTENER.ORA that it lists the SID_NAME as ORCL. I'm sure this should be AG314VAL

    As it currently stands in your LISTENER.ORA, the listener description is pointing at an instance called ORCL.AG314VAL

    According to your init.ora, this would be wrong.

    Try changing the SID_NAME in LISTENER.ORA to AG314VAL. Possibly try on your current TNSNAMES.ORA and LISTENER.ORA and also on a clean copy of the original files.

    Failing that you might try loading up the NET8 assistant and seeing what it comes up with?

    Hth
    Bill

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Bill,

    I'll give it a try tomorrow.

    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •