Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    22

    Unanswered: Doesn't require password.

    I'm currently building a database in Access200.

    This is the problem:
    When I open the db from my computer access ask me for a username/password but when another user on the netword opens the db they get right into it as Admin without needing to write in username/password.

    How should I do to make Access ask every user for a username/password?

    Thank you in advance.
    lowtek.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    You could go about it 1 of 2 ways...

    1) Put a password on the database. All this does is keep unwanted users out of the database. Not very effective.

    2) Build a secure database using Access security. Grant all of your user permissions, and then take away all permission from the Admin account. That way, even if someone logs in as Admin, they can't do anything.
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    22
    Originally posted by RedNeckGeek
    You could go about it 1 of 2 ways...

    2) Build a secure database using Access security. Grant all of your user permissions, and then take away all permission from the Admin account. That way, even if someone logs in as Admin, they can't do anything.
    Well, the problem is that users got different permissions.

    And there are 3 other users that got admin accounts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,941
    I'm not really a whiz with Access security, but I do use it.

    You don't have to do away with the Admins account (group),
    just take away all permissions from the Admin user. If you have users
    that need "superuser" access, set them each up with their own account,
    and full permission.
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    22
    Originally posted by RedNeckGeek
    I'm not really a whiz with Access security, but I do use it.

    You don't have to do away with the Admins account (group),
    just take away all permissions from the Admin user. If you have users
    that need "superuser" access, set them each up with their own account,
    and full permission.
    I've checked some more and noticed that the usernames I've added on my computer doesn't appear on the other computers in the network. They only got the admin account without a password and that's why they get in with-out using login/passwrd.

    How do I save the usernames and passwords in the database so that they affects everyone that opens the db no-matter which computer they are using?

    There will be so many people using the database so configurating each computer is out of the question.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    it seems to me that your db is not secured. Use the security wizard in tools menu (AFTER A BACKUP OF YOUR DB). This will create an mdw file and a shortcut to your newly secured db. You should use the shortcut to open the db as would anyone using it.

    Hope this heps.
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    22
    Originally posted by Marco Del Corno
    it seems to me that your db is not secured. Use the security wizard in tools menu (AFTER A BACKUP OF YOUR DB). This will create an mdw file and a shortcut to your newly secured db. You should use the shortcut to open the db as would anyone using it.

    Hope this heps.
    Well, still got problems. Now others.

    This is the problem when I open the new secured database shortcut (.mdw):
    When I try to open the db as Admin it show's nothing.

    This is the problem when i open the database file (.mdb):
    If I open it as Admin it just tells me that I haven't got any permission to open the database.

    To both of the files when I try to login as another user it just keeps telling me that the username doesn't exists.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139
    Careful: the mdw file is not the shortcut!

    There must be another file that is the real shortcut. When you secure a db (eg. pippo.mdb) you end up with three file (pippo.mdb, pippo.mdw, and pippo <- the shortcut).
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    22
    Originally posted by Marco Del Corno
    Careful: the mdw file is not the shortcut!

    There must be another file that is the real shortcut. When you secure a db (eg. pippo.mdb) you end up with three file (pippo.mdb, pippo.mdw, and pippo <- the shortcut).
    Yeah! Got it working.

    The problem was that the shortcut was placed on my desktop and that the target was to long.

    Now it working. Thanks a lot!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •