Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10

    Unanswered: Transaction Log corrupt?

    Hi,

    I have trouble attaching an Database to my SQL Server 2000:

    sp_attach_db
    'quick2team',
    'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team.mdf',
    'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team_log.ldf'

    Server: Nachr.-Nr. 9004, Schweregrad 23, Status 1, Zeile 1
    Fehler beim Verarbeiten des Protokolls für die quick2team-Datenbank.

    Die Verbindung wurde unterbrochen.

    (Sorry: German Version - German Messages)

    I get the same Message when trying to attach the DB via SQL Server Enterprise Manager.

    Any idea what to do?

    Thanks for help

    Buffke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198

    Re: Transaction Log corrupt?

    Originally posted by Buffke
    Hi,

    I have trouble attaching an Database to my SQL Server 2000:

    sp_attach_db
    'quick2team',
    'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team.mdf',
    'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team_log.ldf'

    Server: Nachr.-Nr. 9004, Schweregrad 23, Status 1, Zeile 1
    Fehler beim Verarbeiten des Protokolls für die quick2team-Datenbank.

    Die Verbindung wurde unterbrochen.

    (Sorry: German Version - German Messages)

    I get the same Message when trying to attach the DB via SQL Server Enterprise Manager.

    Any idea what to do?

    Thanks for help

    Buffke
    Try it like this:
    sp_attach_db @dbname = 'quick2team',
    @filename1 = 'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team.mdf'
    @filename2 = 'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team_log.ldf'
    GO
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    Hi jimpen,

    thanks for Reply.

    This doesn't work, too. I get the same Message:

    Server: Nachr.-Nr. 9004, Schweregrad 23, Status 1, Zeile 1
    Fehler beim Verarbeiten des Protokolls für die quick2team-Datenbank.

    Die Verbindung wurde unterbrochen.


    Is there any Tool to check the Transaction Log? I really think, it is corrupted.


    Buffke

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198
    Originally posted by Buffke
    Hi jimpen,

    thanks for Reply.

    This doesn't work, too. I get the same Message:

    Server: Nachr.-Nr. 9004, Schweregrad 23, Status 1, Zeile 1
    Fehler beim Verarbeiten des Protokolls für die quick2team-Datenbank.

    Die Verbindung wurde unterbrochen.


    Is there any Tool to check the Transaction Log? I really think, it is corrupted.


    Buffke
    How did the database get detached? A crash, deliberately, coming from another server?

    Other thought is to change the path so it is in the old DOS 8.3 format instead of the spaces. I can't tell you the directory number. You'll have to do a directory on your machine to get its number.

    C:\Program Files>dir mi*. /x
    Volume in drive C is HOME
    Volume Serial Number is 162E-120B

    Directory of C:\Program Files

    MICROS~1 microsoft frontpage
    MICROS~2 Microsoft Office
    MICROS~3 Microsoft ActiveSync


    Also try:
    sp_attach_single_file_db [@dbname =] 'dbname',
    [@physname =] 'physical_name'

    From the T-SQL help:
    When sp_attach_single_file_db attaches the database to the server, it builds a new log file and performs additional cleanup work to remove replication from the newly-attached database.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    the database was grey in Enterprise Manager. We detached in and tried to re-attach it.

    The db is installed on a Notebook with rare disk space. I guess the disk has run full and this damaged the Transaction Log.

    sp_attach_single_file_db doesn't work, too. Same Message.

    The path must be ok, the db worked fine for 6 months, and the other db-fieles are in the same folder.


    Buffke

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198
    Originally posted by Buffke
    the database was grey in Enterprise Manager. We detached in and tried to re-attach it.

    The db is installed on a Notebook with rare disk space. I guess the disk has run full and this damaged the Transaction Log.

    sp_attach_single_file_db doesn't work, too. Same Message.

    The path must be ok, the db worked fine for 6 months, and the other db-fieles are in the same folder.


    Buffke
    Can you copy the files off the laptop onto a server with disk space?
    What size are the logs defaulted to in your model?

    As far as the path, you probably set up the db through the enterprise manager, vs isqlw and it may be that isqlw handles paths differently.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    I already to copied the files to a Server with lots of disk space - doesn't work

    Log size 2048 KB

    I just put the files in D:\Temp\ and tried to attach: same behavior again

    Buffke

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    So what's the translation of the error message?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    Error processing the protocol for the database.
    The connection was cut off

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198
    Originally posted by Buffke
    Error processing the protocol for the database.
    The connection was cut off
    Does the PC have TCP/IP up and running?

    And let me guess, there is no backup of this database.

    I'm out for the day. I'll ponder this overnight. Good luck.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    TCP/IP is up and running and you're right: no backup.

    I can access master, northwind, ...
    I can create new databases, restore and append other databases

    No Idea what to do.

    Thanks für help (and pondering tonight)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Did it say (Suspect) when it was grey in EM?

    Before doing sp_attach_single_file_db rename the log file to something else, because this sp will attempt to recreate the log and will fail if the file already exists.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    yes, it said (suspect) in EM

    Server: Nachr.-Nr. 1813, Schweregrad 16, Status 2, Zeile 1
    Die neue quick2team-Datenbank konnte nicht geöffnet werden. CREATE DATABASE wird abgebrochen.
    Medienaktivierungsfehler. Der physische Dateiname 'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team_log.ldf' ist möglicherweise falsch.


    'my' translation:
    The new database could not be opened. CREATE DATABASE canceled.
    media activation error. The physical filename 'C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\quick2team_log.ldf' is possibly wrong.


    Even if i copy the .mdf-file to D:\temp, the Message is the same

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63
    You can check out the Log Explorer tool found at http://www.lumigent.com Supposedly they can read log files. They may have a way to recreate or repair a corrupted one.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    10
    The trial version of Log Explorer only works with northwind database or self-created databases.
    If I knew this tool can solve my problem, i would buy a license...
    Does anybody know the Lumigent Log Explorer?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •