Unanswered: Poor Query Performance - OS400 V5R2

I am relatively new to AS400 but I have been enlisted as my company's AS400 admin and DBA (I am already a SQL DBA). We have an iSeries 270 with max'd out hardware, and running V5R2. I have been reading redbook after redbook discussing the vast hardware performance improvements, and of course, the new SQE. Everything I have read sounds pretty impressive. Nonetheless, my query performance is far from impressive and far behind our SQL boxes. I just don't get it.

I have been investing time in learning about V5R2's new SQE, access plan cache, Statistics Manager, and redesigned MI layer, yet I cannot find anything wrong with my databases or my setup.

Does anyone have experience with both DB2 and MS SQL? I have transfered large tables from DB2 to SQL, run identical queries, and SQL is killing DB2. Since our largest investment and most important systems are tied up in our AS400, I am pretty frustrated.

I have noticed that the fast MS SQL queries are using 100% CPU on client side and 25% CPU on server side. The DB2 query is using 0% client side cpu and averaging 1.8% server CPU through the QADASOINIT thread. Does something need to be tuned? SQL is burning through a full table scan in 66 seconds compared to DB2 at 30 minutes!

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

Ryan Hunt

OS400 V5R2, DB2 level 8
    Last edited by AS400Admin; 08-21-03 at 13:36.

Well, I dont have the type of gear you're running, but Im experiencing the same frustration as you are.
    Im currently running DB2 PDE 8.1.3 on w2k interfaced by PHP/ODBC.
    Hardware, is AMD 1700XP, 256M Ram, 7200rpm HD. Nothing spectacular, but for development needs should be more than enough.
    The same system is also running SQL Server 2k.
    Accessing the php pages, are like night and day between SQL2k and DB2.
    My biggest frustration is that DB2 isn't consistent with its performance.