Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Changing recordset of a subform in code

Hello all!

I'm very new to Access in how forms relate to tables, but this forum has helped tremendously.

My question: I have a form (don't we all) with 2 comboboxes on it and a subform imbedded within. One combobox lets the user select a computer name which then popultes the subform's textboxes with the computer's information, who it's assigned to, etc. The subform's recordsource is set to a query that grabs that info from my tables based on what was selected in the combobox. Works great.

My problem lies in the 2nd combobox. It allows the user to select a userID which should populate the same subform with the same information, but this time based on the selected userID. I have a query built that would grab the information based on the userID, but I can't seem to code the afterupdate event of the combobox to change the subform's recordsource to the other query before refreshing (requery) the subform. I've tried several way of coding but I'm thinking now I'm going about this witht he wrong syntax:

frmSubComputer.recordsource = qryCompEmpID

'there isnt a "recordsource" property to set in the dropdown

forms!frmComp.frmSubComputer.recordsource = qryCompEmpID

'same thing, no "recordsource" property is available in the dropdown after typing "frmSubComputer."

Am I trying to change the wrong thing? Bad syntax? Any suggestions would be super appreciated!

Would you please post the db because I can't understand the problem.

As to say: the second combo populate after the first one? Is the second combo taking info from the subform? I'm sorry I'm quite tired today, but if you explain it better I might help you.
    Marco
    ---Do not send e-mail---
    "New Big Bang Theory: God said unzip universe"

Thanks for the response. I've included the dbase to help. I'l restate my question and add a new one: