Unanswered: Report Pulling fr Table with Changing fields

Reports question for Access.

I am generating a report in Access that pulls from a table with, let's say, 10 fields. The problem comes in, in that sometimes, there are only 8 fields, or 5 fields in the table.

So I've set up the report with the table completely filled initially, but now, as the table decreases in fields (depending on client data), when the report opens up, it keeps asking for the missing fields, because they aren't there.

Is there a way to do something on each of the report fields to basically say "If the table you're pulling from doesn't have field X, don't sweat it, and don't put a pop up message asking for a value, just keep going. Otherwise, if it does have info, then put that in."

I'm no expert (by any stretch of the imagination) in VBA, but do I need to go this route, or am I asking something unfair for the reports to do?

Any help greatly appreciated...and have a great Labor Day weekend,

Dante33

Hi Dante33,

Are you using a crosstab query?

If so I use a routine to add to the table fake filler records to ensure that there are say 12 months data even if the data you are querying only has 2 months worth.

If not let me know and I will work on another solution.

Regards

Dale

Originally posted by dalenz
    Hi Dante33,

Are you using a crosstab query?

If so I use a routine to add to the table fake filler records to ensure that there are say 12 months data even if the data you are querying only has 2 months worth.

If not let me know and I will work on another solution.

Regards

Dale
    ----------------------
    Actually, I started using a Crosstab but when the fields change (as I mentioned in the posting), the report refused to even open the report at all...at least when I pull from a table, the report just asks me for the missing values and then opens up.